Making Gyoza – Food for The Soul

There’s something comforting about making a dish that you know involves a little bit of ingredient hunting and assembling – but is guaranteed to taste good.

Today I attempted to make Gyoza (Japanese Dumplings) at the risk of sounding like I’m bragging – I have to say they tasted really good.

Gyoza

Gyoza

I used the recipe from Rasa Malaysia but I didn’t follow the measurements exactly as I had extra minced meat and chives. I wasn’t very sure how to fold the gyoza skins so I looked up this video. Gotta admit the boyfriend was better at folding them than I was :) We ate it with a dumpling dipping sauce.

In an ideal world, I’d like to spend an hour or two once a month making these yummy dumplings and freezing them for those days when I come home from work and want nothing to do with the kitchen. They cook really quick! Let’s see if I succeed. Today’s batch was enough for lunch and there’s definitely enough for dinner in the fridge. Maybe next week I’ll make more to freeze.

I hope you guys are having a good weekend :)

3 responses

  1. What a coincidence. I made wanton soup for some guests on Friday night, and fried wantons last night from the leftover filling. Yums :)

    • Awww wanton soup! There is one restaurant here that serves it – tasted like wanton in sea water. It was *that* salty! Since then I haven’t found it elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

