A Wonderful Saturday

I had a wonderful Saturday yesterday. I woke up, had French Toast for breakfast – it wasn’t pretty (hence no photos) but tasted awesome. Then I slowly got ready for the gym after reading a few pages of Angela Clark’s “I Heart New York”. It’s actually a cute book (which I got as a freebie with the UK edition of Glamour magazine). The cover image I have borrowed seems to be for the latest print – I have a special edition that was published for Glamour I believe.

Cover Image borrowed from Amazon.com

I like reading cute, funny, lighthearted girly books during my free time – it’s a way to rest my constantly analyzing mind. I used to read a lot of fantasy and fiction but these days I don’t seem to have brain juice for them.

So, how was gym? It was a lot of fun – my first time trying out this Strength & Core class. Okay before I go on, let me clarify, my intention of writing about the gym is not to make anybody feel guilty about eating sweet stuff or not going to the gym and such. I write about the gym not because I want to be “holier than thou” – just to vent a little bit at how difficult it is for _me_ to get into shape since I have an 8 hour desk job where the most activity I do is chase after an engineer to clarify a paragraph – or get up to get a cup of tea.

It’s also difficult to be active since I spent so much of my younger days studying, reading, chatting on IRC: sedentary lifestyle – I never was a sporty person – though I did know how to dress up sportily ;) I used to avoid playing netball and basketball because I was afraid of the ball (much to my elder sister’s amusement). I was terrified that the ball will hit my face and shatter my glasses or something. I hate getting all sweaty – that’s why I like living in Scandinavia – when I go to work and come back from work – I can look somewhat clean, neat and presentable. [Frozen fingers/chapped lips/snow matted hair not included.] We have to do what makes us happy – my battle with my chubbiness (to put it nicely) makes me happy in a way. I feel like I am doing something beyond my routine of going to work, eating, and sleeping. I’d like to live a wholesome life where work is not the only thing that defines my identity – I want to be more than just a technical writer. I want to be able to cook, travel, see the world outside, shop, obsess about skin care, go to the gym, read a good book, appreciate a good cup of coffee, take a nice photograph, paint my fingernails, etc. I guess you could say “I want it all”.

Okay, now that we have gotten that out of the way. Let’s just say Strength & Core exercise is a little bit of torture. The exercise itself was quite enjoyable – but I had no idea it was possible to place a weight on your abdomen and do bicycle crunches. That one was tough. I also didn’t understand 40% of what the instructor was saying (another reason to sign up for Norsk classes ASAP) but it was alright. The sad part is that I’m sore today. Quite sore actually – it started last night at the party – which made it difficult to sit around and talk to people.

I would go back for this class again though – because people tell me – if you are sore the next day, it means you used your muscles. Let’s see how much courage I can muster to step into this class next Saturday.

What else did I do yesterday? I had lunch and dessert in my favourite cafe (it’s known as Kafe Caffe). No piccies because I was reading my book while eating. It was so nice to sit outside in the shade and have pasta, carrot cake and an iced latte. *Happy sigh*

I spent my evening (like until 3am) at a friend’s housewarming party. I haven’t been out till so late in such a long time – it helps to have friends who live 5 minutes away from your apartment to share a taxi with :) It was so much fun meeting people I haven’t seen in a while – kind of like a hint that you are still fun to hangout with despite not working with them anymore. Life goes on, right?

I was thinking of cooking my favourite Teriyaki Chicken with Soba Noodles today – I have been singing praises for this dish for awhile now ;) I’ll post a photograph of it afterwards – with a bowl that is not green. Exactly, why are all my bowls/plates light green? Because green is my favourite colour. When I moved to Norway into my first apartment (a 24 meters-squared shoe box) I bought two green mugs, a green bowl and a green plate. Now, in my second apartment, I still have a lot of green stuff but they don’t seem to help with food photography (I’d love to improve on this skill in future). All the dishes look the same!

Anyway, I hope all of you (my 5 readers? :)) are having a good weekend. I’d like to leave you with this interesting article that KarenMBB pointed out yesterday – 10 Rules for Brilliant Women. Nothing like starting a new week with some added confidence, right?

5 responses

  1. Sounds like you had a great weekend. I’m planning to have three weeks of that while I’m holidaying in Sweden. Teehee. Reading Time Traveller’s Wife, and have The girl with the dragon tattoo as backup. Planning to raid the shops later or at least hang out at a coffee joint. I’m loving Scandinavia too ;)

    • Oooh Time Traveler’s Wife is very nice. I read it before. I’ve been meaning to pick up the Stig Larsson trilogy – but I have so many other books I haven’t read yet so I’m guilty. I love shopping for books – can spend hours in a bookstore (having worked in MPH before) .. but I also want to get a Kindle. Though getting a Kindle means never being able to buy a real printed book.

      Interestingly, in Tamil, “Kindle” (or Kindal) is like a colloquial expression meaning “to tease/make fun of somebody”.

      Enjoy your vacation yeah! A friend of mine insists that the chocolates in Sweden are better than Norway – there’s a yellow and red bar with whole hazelnuts inside. The brand is Marabou (http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_MgUO5lDnTSo/RgHzO4kToZI/AAAAAAAAAJg/OhSeEYPX1Yg/s400/Marabou.jpg) So if you’re looking for gifts – get this chocolate. It’s delicious.

  2. Sounds like you had a wonderful day! I’m so glad for you <3

    And yes, sore muscles is a sign they've been put to work. It's like they're saying "Oh, thank you so much for using me! I'd forgotten how to do that. Please use me again in a couple of days, when I'm rested and ready!"

    Luckily they stop going sore when used regularly. I'm only sore if I do something completely new (like play tennis?). Yes. The workouts I usually do don't make me sore – just refreshed and strong :)

    • You’re like Superwoman, Pinchy. I saw on your twitter that you once burned 741 calories! I am nowhere near there – I still get worried when I have sore muscles (still hurting today, I’m wincing when I walk around like an old woman).

      You’re very cute, Pinchy :)

  3. dude, the only cure for sore muscles is warm water! thats how i survived after my brutal bhangra camp ._. that and doing more high cardio bhangra lol im sure ur dong great! keep it up and dont take a too long a break or u might get tempted to ease up again. im so inpired, im totally trying to make sure i can take like a cardio-abs-tights class, thats my weak area ._. :$ but u can do it! :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

