Cooking Up A Storm

I’ve been all about Asian food these past couple of days. The bf and I have been eating sushi, noodles, and Pad Thai a lot lately.

For dinner yesterday I cooked Char Siew Chicken again (this time with wings – managed to find them but at a slightly expensive price) with Okra fried Indian style using some spices, onion, and garlic [inspired by WhimsicalJottings]. Served them with Garlic bread – quite yummy despite the Chinese style chicken, Indian style vegetable, and European style bread. Fusion, yo!

To break the monotony – slightly – I made Carbonara in the typical Italian style, without cream. It was a really quick and easy dish. I believe I got the recipe years ago from NineMSN. Basically, you cook your spaghetti as usual. While that’s cooking, in a frying pan fry bacon in olive oil and later add chopped leek. Ideally the bacon should be a little bit brown but I usually cook with almost rindless bacon so my bacon never really gets brown.

Once the spaghetti and bacon are done, drain the spaghetti and return it to its’ pot. If I recall correctly, the recipe states that you should switch off the heat, toss in the bacon and leek and then break two eggs into the pot and give it a good stir. I’m a bit paranoid about eating slightly raw egg so I usually leave the heat on and stir the spaghetti so that the eggs coat it evenly. Season with salt, pepper, a bit of grated parmesan and some Italian spices.

Here’s a photo of what it looks like:

Spaghetti Carbonara

Today’s dinner is my favourite Japanese noodle recipe: Teriyaki Chicken and Soba Noodles but since I was at an Asian grocer Friday night, I managed to find Udon noodles so I swapped Soba for Udon. These noodles tasted awesome.

Teriyaki Chicken with Udon Noodles

6 responses

    • Hehe, I found it by chance in a new Asian grocery store. They had so many nice things like Pocky and frozen gyozas. Bought a bag of the gyozas to try them out.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

