…of Lemon Chicken & Meatballs

I really hope this does not turn into a cooking blog :)

Last Monday I was craving some good Asian food. I sometimes wish there was a nice Chinese restaurant in Oslo where you can get dishes like Yam Basket, Lemon Chicken, Sweet and Sour Pork, Clay Pot Chicken Rice, Black Pepper Chicken, Cantonese Fried Noodles, Hokkien Noodles…ahh :)

Actually the food that I crave is more of Malaysian Chinese food, rather than authentic Chinese food. I’ve been told that the Chinese food we eat in Malaysia is not the same Chinese food you get when you travel to China. I have never been to China so I am not sure :) Perhaps someday I shall find out.

So yes, I craved Chinese food and decided to make it myself. How hard can it be? I usually cook dinner with the boyfriend and the funny thing about him is that despite being German, he likes Asian food. He’s quite adventurous with food and can always be convinced to try a new dish. It also helps that he’s been to Malaysia twice with me and has traveled a bit around the world for work.

Lemon Chicken with Rice and Steamed Broccoli with Hoisin Sauce

So we made Lemon Chicken following this recipe. It was pretty good. While cooking rice (my rice cooker comes with a steaming tray – I brought it from Malaysia when I first moved to Norway, it was a gift from my parents) I also placed some broccoli on the steaming tray. Multitasking :) Served the broccoli with a drizzle of Hoisin sauce. The dish was awesome – and it helped with the craving.

I felt like making good ‘ol Spaghetti + Metaballs for lunch today. So after breakfast I marinated ingredients for the meatballs: minced pork, lots of pepper, diced onions, Italian spices, cumin, salt, garlic, etc. with eggs and breadcrumbs – and placed the bowl covered with plastic wrap in the fridge. It was a good idea because by the time I was ready to make the meatballs (after running at the gym) the mixture was tender and well marinated. The meatballs were tasty, combined with Barilla’s Basilico pasta sauce, spaghetti and a bit of grated Parmesan cheese. The meatballs were baked for about 15 minutes and then I stirred them through the warmed pasta sauce to let the flavors infuse. I’m not good with Italian food so this is just my experiment :)

Here’s what it looked like:

Spaghetti and Meatballs

People always talk about Swedish meatballs. Unfortunately I will never be able to eat them as I cannot eat beef. So, I make pork meatballs instead. It’s a form of consolation ;) Sure does taste good though.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

