When Life Hands You Parsnips..

 

Make Parsnip Fries. Seriously :) This picture does not do justice to the taste of these fries.

Parsnip Fries

I got the recipe from here. It would probably have tasted better had I used Almond Butter but I didn’t have any. If you’re like me and constantly have to trick yourself to eating healthy stuff – these fries are a very good substitute for french fries (that are bad for the waistline).

If you don’t want to click that link, here’s what I did:

  • Peel and slice two parsnips into strips
  • Place the strips into a bowl and add a few teaspoons of olive oil and 3 tablespoons of peanut butter (I used the crunchy type)
  • Add a dash of salt
  • Mix the contents of the bowl well to ensure that the parsnip strips are evenly coated with the batter – this is a bit tricky because you’ll get peanut butter all over your hands :)
  • Place in an oven pre-heated at 200 C
  • Bake for 30-40 minutes or so depending on how crunchy you want the fries to be

I always walk around the supermarket looking for new stuff to experiment with. I have seen parsnips before but had no idea what to do with them. Here’s what fresh parsnip looks like:

Fresh Parsnips

Fresh Parsnips

    4 responses

    1. Hi! Thanks for your comment.. and yes Oslo must be so so much colder, my bf was just there 2 weeks ago and it was something like -15?? I don’t feel so bad being in London now, ha.

      And ps – I HATE parsnips!!! hahahaha

      x

    2. Ok for a minute there I thought they were french fries. Do we have parsnip in Malaysia??? Sorry for the silly question,have not seen it in our local supermarket before :)

      • Hm, I’m not sure if there are parsnips in Malaysia. You could try Cold Storage or The Village Grocer… or the other supermarket owned by Delicious, I think? They might have it because they normally import foreign goods. It looks very similar to white radish that my mother puts in Sambaar :)

        If you can’t find Parsnips, a similar option is sweet potato but you can skip the peanut butter and just use olive oil + some herbs like oregano, parsley, thyme, etc. Sweet potato is like a healthier option compared to white potato – but I love both equally.

    Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 34 other followers

