Banana Fritters

I love the banana fritters my mother makes for tea when I’m at home in Malaysia. It’s one of her quick tea cakes when she has overripe prayer bananas but has no heart to throw them away. In my religion we use bananas for prayers all the time – the objective is to offer food to God.

But, anyway, the bananas in Norway are imported so they will never taste like Malaysian ones. Nevertheless, making banana fritters, is very comforting for me; it tastes really good too!

Banana Fritters

The only sad part about these fritters is that they are deep fried. You will need a small pot that can hold a good amount of oil. Apart from Tempura Prawns, this is the other dish that I don’t mind deep frying. Everything else is baked :)

Banana Fritters

So how do we make these little bits of heaven?

Ingredients

  • 2 medium sized ripe bananas
  • 1 tablespoon sugar (I use muscovado)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3-4 tablespoons of flour
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla essence (optional)

Method

  • In a bowl, peel and mash bananas with a fork/masher until soft
  • Add in enough flour to cover the bananas – my mother uses 1 tablespoon of flour for each banana, but I usually add a little bit more
  • Add in the remaining ingredients and stir well
  • Set aside for a few minutes
  • Heat enough oil in a sauce pan or little pot – this amount depends on the size of your pot. Effectively you need enough oil to cover the banana fritters. I usually fill half the pot with oil, but I use a very small pot.
  • Once oil is hot enough (test by dropping in a small pinch of batter and it will bubble on the sides), drop spoonfuls of batter into the oil. Remove once golden brown, preferably with a slotted spoon.
  • Cool on a kitchen towel to absorb excess oil
  • Serve warm

I’ve tried to make banana fritters many, many times. It’s only recently that I managed to make it look and taste somewhat similar to that which my Mother makes. I guess practice does make almost-perfect?

5 responses

    • Hm, let’s see. In Hinduism, when you pray you can make offerings – fruit, food, flowers, etc. A common offering is bananas. There’s a prayer light that we light when we pray, and usually when the light goes off – we believe that God has blessed the offering and we eat it out of respect – and it’s just auspicious to eat food/fruit that was given as an offering. You can take the offering, but you cannot do in reverse – give something that you ate or you have tasted (if you’re cooking it) or that you have used (flowers) to God. You give it first, then you take it later.

      The Hinduism that I practice is not exactly from a book. It’s what I learned as a child, sitting on my grandmother’s lap and listening to the stories she told my sisters and I. It’s a mix of religion, tradition, and lifestyle – if that makes any sense. It’s kind of difficult for me to separate the components today so I just live it :)

  1. Pingback: Banana Fritters « iHousewife

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

