Belgian Waffles

Seeing as it is almost 2011 (in 21 minutes to be exact), I figured I will post something sweet – homemade Belgian waffles. My love affair with Belgian waffles started when I was a kid, eating waffles from A&W in Malaysia. A&W is like McDonald’s – a fast food chain originating from the USA. They serve amazing waffles with ice-cream but the waffles are made Belgian style – slightly crispy and a little bit chewy.

Now that I live in Norway, I crave Belgian waffles because the Norwegian waffles are very different. They are delicious in their own way, but Belgian waffles have so much more memories attached to them (for me).

I always see the Belgian waffle iron here, on display in kitchen stores, and I always resist.

Until the Christmas week when the Bf and I were discussing what we should cook during our 3-day weekend for Christmas and another one for New Year. We decided on getting the Belgian waffle iron as it was on sale and I have to say – it makes really good waffles.

Here’s a photograph for proof:

Homemade Belgian Waffles

Excuse the puddle of maple syrup – it’s a weakness of mine – maple syrup that is, not puddles :)

Here’s a closer look:

Closer Look at Homemade Belgian Waffles

Now the battle begins – the battle where I resist making waffles every weekend so I won’t end up looking like a beached whale :)

I got the recipe from Baking Bites and I have to say it’s quite a good recipe. In fact, it was such a good recipe that even the waffle iron popped itself open on agreement. Well that was probably because of the rising agents in the batter (baking soda and baking powder) but I’d like to believe that it was the waffle iron’s way of saying “Here you go, Ma’am. Breakfast is served.” Yes, I have a very vivid imagination – with everybody writing children’s novels, I should probably jump on that bandwagon too, huh? :)

4 responses

    • Thank you! :) You could make them too. I’m trying to have Waffle Saturdays or something similar as a way to limit my sugar – gives me something to look forward to once a week and that’s it.

    • Temptation … is hard to resist. I’ve been trying to change my lifestyle for a long time now. I have succeeded to a certain extent – but staying off desserts and sugary stuff is quite tough as I have sweet tooth. So the only solution I see is to like give myself some allowance once a week. These day I avoid eating junk food during the week so I can look forward to Belgian waffles once during the weekend. It’s kind of like a cheat day. I hope it works otherwise that waffle iron will be banished to the basement :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

