2010: The Year That Was

Giudecca, Venice (April 2010)

I had a list of stuff that I really wanted to do for 2010 and I have to say – I managed to achieve most of them. I didn’t expect to take a Norwegian course, but I managed to do that. For some reason I find it very difficult to motivate myself to learn that language because I love my daily routines – a little too much. So going for a language lesson after work is just not something I enjoy – but I managed to grit my teeth and finish another course. I start a new course in February and hopefully another one later. I’m hoping to get 3 courses done in 2011 instead of just 1. Each course I complete takes me one step closer to applying for Permanent Residency in Norway. Wish me luck! :)

I’ve been a bit more active with the gym – that was another goal of mine. Of course the travels to Berlin, Malaysia, Venice, Bergen, Amsterdam, and San Francisco, was more than I could ask for. For that, I am grateful.

I also started this blog in 2010 – because I figured I could use a change and WordPress has a way of making blogs look very professional with its clean and clutter free design.

So, what about 2011? Here are my resolutions:

  1. Make friends
  2. Learn more Norwegian (at least get to Level 2a)
  3. Travel – I have Trondheim/Berlin/Malaysia/Indonesia/India in the works . If by any chance I get to add in a trip to Barcelona or Lisbon or Paris or New York or San Francisco again – I’d be thrilled ;) Yes, I’m a little bit greedy, I admit. I just love travel.
  4. Read more – I am a bit embarrassed to say this but since I got a Kindle, I read less. I have not come across a single book that has kept me engrossed. It’s so unlike me to not be engrossed in a book. I hope to find some interesting books that will fuel my interest for reading.
  5. Go to gym three times a week – this is a tricky one because I usually manage for up to two weeks in a row, then something happens or I have to travel somewhere and the gym routine flies out the window. Have to persevere for this one.
  6. Eat healthy – portion control is tough. Portion control in -18 C is even more tough. I have to keep at it, someway, somehow.
  7. Save – I need to be a little bit more aware of my finances. This is an area where I can always improve.
  8. Make time to do nothing – I’m quite bad at resting, my mind is constantly working, switching from one task to another. I need to learn how to rest and just….be.

So, what are your New Year’s resolutions? Or do you not believe in making resolutions?

13 responses

  1. Hey Fieran
    Happy new year, I’ve been silently reading your blog for a while now, and as part of my 2011 resolutions i decided to blog and actually comment on the blogs I follow LOL! I actually stumbled upon your old blog and one day read thru all the posts…and u went through so much that i am going through, as i’m also studying away from home…hope we can be friends :)
    ♥ Abi

    • Hi Abi :)

      Happy New Year to you too. You read through all the posts? OK I’m a bit embarrassed now :) Studying away from home is such an eye-opening experience, right? Commenting on blogs is really fun – I’ve met a lot of nice friends online simply by writing comments on their blogs or responding to their twitter messages.

      Of course we can be friends,
      Fieran.

    • Hm, I do write about them – just not in full detail I guess. Honestly I’m not sure why :) I have a quick post about it on my old blog. But you’re right – will write more about my travels one of these days. Promise.

    • Thank you! Same to you. Have a wonderful year. Now if I can just leech some motivation to do yoga from your end…my life will be perfect :) My favourite yoga teacher is no longer teaching at the gym – and they increased the length of the classes from 55 minutes to 70 minutes so I’m not sure if I’m in shape enough to be able to last 70 minutes. It’s tough. Suryanamaskar for me is not easy because I can’t do the Downward Dog properly and it starts to really burn. Sigh, I’m a wimp :/

      • I can’t do chaturanga properly and I have been practicing for almost 4 years now. I think the best thing to do is force yourself out for those 70 minutes, after a week or two, your body will get used to it.

      • Yes, I was considering that – dying in the 70 minutes course a few weeks then slowly surviving :) But I also found an easy version of the yoga course on Tuesday. Am going to try it tomorrow and see.

        Chaturanga is tough – I can’t do it well either. It’s not a smooth movement the way my yoga instructor does it.

        Shall just have to work at it I guess :) Thanks for being so supportive!

  2. Happy New Year babe. Digging the travel plans esp the Malaysian one, hehe :) Me have a few small ones – like to lose weight and be a better mom. Not much besides that or rather can’t think of any at the moment. But hope you fulfil your resolutions *hugs*

    • Happy New Year to you too. I’m sure you’re a good mother, Sairah’s going to grow up to be a wonderful child. You’ll see :)

      You can definitely lose the weight – it will just take some time and a bit of resisting. Good luck and look forward to seeing you in a few months or so.

  3. Pingback: So Long 2011 « Across the Oceans

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

