Teriyaki Salmon with Sweet Potato Fries

They say “When in Rome, do as the Romans”. Similarly, I say “When in Norway, eat Salmon”. Seriously. Salmon is so inexpensive here that I eat it almost every single week. If it’s not self made, it’s in sushi or in the form of Norwegian Fish Soup. Another reason why I eat a lot of salmon is because I’d rather get my Omega-3 from the food I eat instead of taking supplements.

Here’s a recurring dish in my kitchen:

Teriyaki Salmon with Sweet Potato Fries

This is the first time I have managed to make my salmon look so nice and glazed. The secret seemed to be baking at lower heat than usual (around 180 C).

Teriyaki Salmon (2 portions):

  • 3 tablespoons of thick teriyaki sauce (I buy this in the supermarket, it’s just regular Teriyaki marinade which is a bit thicker and sometimes has sesame seeds in it already)
  • 2 tablespoons of thin teriyaki sauce (I’m only using this because I bought it but I prefer the thicker version… but I also don’t have the heart to throw it away or let it rot in the fridge so I use it from time to time. Feel free to skip it :))
  • 3 tablespoons of Japanese plum vinegar (you could use Japanese rice vinegar as well)
  • 1 teaspoon of minced ginger (use the bottled one to save time)
  • 1 teaspoon of minced garlic (also use the bottled one if possible)
  • 2 tablespoons of lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon of sesame oil
  • ground black pepper to taste

Mix ingredients in a bowl to form a marinade. Coat 2 pieces of salmon evenly with the marinade and leave in the fridge for about 20 minutes. I usually place the marinated salmon in the fridge while working with the sweet potato. Heat oven till 180 C and bake on foil or in a tray for approximately 15-20 minutes. If you are unsure whether salmon is cooked or not, reduce the heat and leave it in for a few more minutes.

Sweet Potato (2 portions):

  • 2 large or 3 medium sized sweet potatoes
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon Italian spices (I use a pre-mixed version from Nomu, you could use oregano, basil, thyme, rosemary to taste)
  • 2-3 tablespoons of french fries spice (this is another bottled spice I get from the supermarket here which contains a little bit of everything – sugar, salt, pepper, chilli powder, cayenne pepper, etc.)

Peel, rinse, and slice sweet potato into wedge or strips. Place spices and oil into a bowl and coat sweet potato strips evenly. Heat oven to 180 or 200 C. Place the strips on a baking tray lined with greaseproof paper (it usually sticks on foil) and bake for 15 minutes on each side.

Here’s another photograph to motivate you to make this dish ;)

Teriyaki Salmon with Sweet Potato Fries

2 responses

  1. This looks so delicious, Fieran! I never would’ve thought to put these two things together – but they do look absolutely nom. You’re such an inspiration in the kitchen! =)

    • Hehe, thank you. I’m just one of those people who throws stuff together randomly because I’m starving – and sometimes the dishes turn out alright. I started making sweet potato fries as an alternative to normal french fries. I wanted to give those up – so I never make french fries at home.. only sweet potato fries or parsnip fries. If I don’t make it, then I can’t eat it, right? :)

      The salmon is amazing – it tasted really good. You should try it too :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

