Food Galore

I’ve been cooking a little more than usual lately, as my new job is a lot closer to where I live, leaving me more than enough time to cook a hearty meal most evenings.

Recently, I tried Meeta’s Riesling Risotto with Leek and Bacon recipe and I have to say it was really good. Now my photography skills are not where near Meeta’s but I’d like to hope that my dish tasted half as good as hers :)

Riesling Risotto with Leek and Bacon

I normally don’t cook with wine as I don’t drink alcohol. But, these days, I seem to buy bottles of wine and beer for the bf and for guests who drop by. I like being a good hostess :) I figured since the alcohol in the wine is going to evaporate anyway, I might as well be more flexible.

Another recipe I tried recently was RasaMalaysia’s Pineapple Fried Rice. I was at the supermarket and was contemplating how to make Pineapple Fried Rice, so I did a quick search and was directed to RasaMalaysia’s recipe. Now this baby takes very little time to make so if you’re craving Pineapple Fried Rice, you know where to find it ;)

Pineapple Fried Rice

While browsing around RasaMalaysia’s blog again, this morning, I was so tempted to try out the Butter Chicken recipe provided by her guest blogger, LickMySpoon. Butter Chicken brings back memories of this Indian restaurant in Sir Fred Schonnell Drive in Brisbane, Queensland. I can’t even remember the name of that restaurant – but I do remember my friend Manelle who used to eat Butter Chicken and Naan Bread there with me, years ago, when we were students. Making this dish today brought back those memories.

Butter Chicken served with Mint Rice

The mint rice is a regular “dweller” in my kitchen. I got the recipe from my Mom over the phone. It’s quick to prepare and tastes wonderful with dishes that have gravy as the mint really brings out the flavours in the gravy.

To make the mint rice, all you need is:

  • 1 tablespoon ghee (or butter)
  • 1/2 teaspoon mustard seeds
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin seeds
  • 1 cm ginger chopped finely (I’m lazy so I use bottled ginger paste)
  • 2 cups rice (I use a small plastic cup that came with my rice cooker)
  • handful of mint leaves blended with enough water needed to cook the rice

There are two parts to this recipe:

  1. Heat ghee and fry mustard seeds and cumin seeds. Once the seeds start to pop, add the ginger and stir in the rice. Fry the rice for a few minutes until all the ghee has been absorbed.
  2. Cook the rice normally (in the pot or with a rice cooker) with the mint water.

Here’s a closer look at the rice:

Butter Chicken served with Mint Rice 2

2 responses

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

