FOTD: Chanel Ebloui and MAC Legendary Black

So I’ve been playing around with Chanel’s Illusion d’Ombre in Ebloui lately. I swatched it months ago when it was released in Norway but I fell for the Mirifique shade instead. After really enjoying the texture and staying power of Mirifique I decided to pick up another one.

When I was at duty free in Heathrow a few weeks ago, I swatched Ebloui. I thought it wouldn’t really show up on my skin but in the airport lighting it was quite a nice subtle shade. At first glance it just looks like coppery glitter on my skin. But in the shade it looks even better. It’s got a nice plummy brown hue that looks so classy.

As much as I love in-your-face bold shadow looks, having Ebloui in my stash kind of gives me a chance to wear more subtle looks.

Excuse the mussed up hair, it was a windy day.

Here’s what I did (and I promised it did not take more than 15 minutes):

  • I started out with NARS Pro Prime Smudgeproof Eyeshadow base. I applied a really thin layer.
  • Then I used a MAC 217 brush and patted Ebloui from the upper lashline but stopped before my crease. I did this a few times though because it’s difficult to tell how much is on my eyelid. In other words, it’s actually quite difficult to overdo it.
  • Then I took the same 217 brush and blended Legendary Black into the crease and outer corner.
  • I lined my upper and lower lashline with MAC Feline which is a smudgy black eyeliner. In typical “I’m-too-scared-to-wear-shadow-on-my-lower-lashline” style, I just smudged more Feline on my lower lashline and set it with transparent powder.

At the risk of looking silly, here’s what it looks like with my eyes closed:

Now I’m off to ponder why I always look so yellow in photographs. Here are some additional links in case you’re curious:

  1. Temptalia’s Chanel Illusion D’ombre Swatches
  2. Karen’s Look with Chanel Mirifique
  3. What in the world is Legendary Black: Temptalia’s Swatches of MAC’s Legendary Black

P/s - I’ll never be able to swatch as well as Temptalia and I’m not even going to bother to try as I don’t live in a very well lit place. I do live in a country with a love-hate relationship with sunlight so I really don’t see myself ever finding the proper time and place to swatch eyeshadows. I’m always at work when the sun is shining anyway :)

15 responses

  1. Ebloui looks gorgeous! I love the look, honey =) It reminds me of Nice Vice, the paintpot you gave me :) Such a pretty colour! Happy you enjoy the formula and wear-time of it. I’m yet to try one of those shadows – my husband does keep reminding me to buy more Chanel ;)

    • Thank you! I’m trying to rotate my looks a bit with not always wearing bold eyeshadow but subtle looks too.

      Your husband is too cool for school! :) These shadows are permanent and I think there will be blue ones coming out in one of the future collections.

      You might like Epatant (greeny silver) or Illusoire (greyish purple) too. They’re really quick to apply and easy to work with. I didn’t get the lighter shades as I felt they might look a bit stark on my skintone. But, they will definitely work for you skintone.

    • It’s really strange because when I apply it I don’t see the plumminess. It’s just like a coppery shade with sparkles. Do swatch these babies out when you get a chance. There are some really nice colours in the range especially for pale skinned beauties.

    • Thank you! I’m so flattered that you’re commenting on my blog. Really! :)

      You should get it. It seems to look different depending on how much light there is.

  2. Pweeittt! Rocking the lock. I think I have a similar color to your eyelid shade on my Naked 2 palette, wore it today. But yea smokey look is ya thang!

    • Thank you! :) I was just playing around on a weekend and was quite surprised to see how much less shimmery Ebloui looked in the shade. Yes, I think Chopper or Snakebite could be similar. I’m still resisting that palette, so far, so good :) I’m too in love with these dark, smoky-ish looks to attempt other looks. But sometimes I do like gold-ish, bronzey looks that are more subtle because of my skintone; then I am amazed how different I look.

      I want to see your eyeshadow looks too! :) You’ve been rocking some bold lips lately right? How do you like the Tarte lipsurgence pencils?

      • Well all that playing around worked out well for ya :) Ah yes I think it’s snakebite if I”m not mistaken. I think gold would work wonders for you.

        Me? LOL I’m still a noob, can’t even draw my eyeliner properly – sis always makes fun of me. Yes I have, I’ve significantly made my lippie collection grow, will blog it soon hopefully. I LOVE em, though the packing sucks, the cover on few of them broke (maybe coz I’m rough!) but the color payoff is just beautiful and i’ve fallen in love with two or three shades! Love the minty like smell too. You should gift yourself that when you can :)

      • Thanks! I have so many gold eyeshadows because it’s the main colour most make up artistes end up recommending me. I think they know that there is a link between most Indian women and gold ;)

        Maybe I should start using my gold eyeshadows more. Will go home and hunt for them later.

        I used to have serious issues drawing eyeliner until I discovered that with pencil liner, you cannot tell that your line is not straight if your smudge it with a brush afterwards. In fact until today, I smudge my eyeliner, it’s become a habit I cannot change.

        Basically you get a pencil brush or a smudge brush and gently dab at the line you already drew. If you don’t want your liner to smudge all over your eyes, you can set it with eyeshadow of the same color or with transparent powder.

        You’re going to call me an enabler, but I’m going to suggest you try MAC’s Teddy kohl pencil (dark brown with a bit of gold sheen) or MAC’s Phone Number kohl pencil (a beautiful grey colour with slight shine). Of course you can always use black but if you feel like starting out slow, then these two colours are nice. Estee Lauder’s Kajal pencils are also really good. You don’t have to put much effort to work with them at all.

        Eyeliner + Mascara is a great combination for when you want to look put together but not done up.

        I can’t get Tarte here so I only buy their products when I or the bf travels. Let’s see if I get the chance :)

  3. Great look! :D This post is reminding to check out two things: NARS Smudgeproof Eyeshadow Base and Chanel Illusion d’Ombre.

    Also, MAC’s Gilt by Association Mineralize Eyeshadow would look AMAZING on you. As would ALL of MAC Pearlglide Intense Eyeliners (especially in Black Line and Undercurrent).

    • Aww coming from you I’m flattered. Thank you Denise :)

      The NARS Smudgeproof eyeshadow base is quite different from Urban Decay. I find that it improves blendability a bit. It feels neater than Urban Decay’s primer…if that makes any sense? I also like the wand and the tube. It’s so compact.

      Chanel’s Illusion d’Ombre is really nice but I can only work the darker shades. I don’t think the light shades like Epatant and Illusoire will work for me. On you, they will :) If you’re traveling, you should check out the Chanel stuff at duty free. I feel that’s the location where you get the most bang for your buck. I think there’s a blue one coming out in Summer. I have my eye on it. Might be named Nirvana or something.

      I have Gilt by Association but I’ve only worn it once. Will wear it again soon. I have a few of the Pearlglides when they were released with the Tartan Tale collection. The bf was in US during that week and I sent him a list. I don’t have Black Line but I have Black Swan, Undercurrent and Lord it Up. I shall wear Undercurrent one of these days :) Thanks for the tips! *HUG*

      • I’ve been meaning to check out NARS’ eye primer for a while now, but always forgot about it, lol. But I have a 15% off coupon for Sephora, so I will be sure to pick one up this weekend! :D

        And thanks for the duty free tip! I’m going to NYC at the end of April, so I’m probably going to wait to check out what’s at duty free before purchasing anything. Otherwise, I’ll probably get some in NYC since the retail price is lower in the US than in Canada.

        And Fieran, you basically need to get all the Pearlglide liners. They are so amazingly amazing, I can’t even. How do you not have Petrol Blue?! YOU LOVE BLUE! Also, MAC’s Colour Added eyeshadow palette (from Shop MAC, Cook MAC) looks RIDICULOUSLY AWESOME on darker skintones. Did you check it out yet?

        Also, save money for MAC’s In Extra Dimension collection (launching in April). :D

      • Ohhh NYC. You’re making me yearn to go back again. The bf and I are itching to back to NYC again..sigh what a place!

        You have to go to the Chanel counter in Macy’s on W 34th street. It’s like the best Chanel counter I’ve seen apart from Nordstrom Seattle’s one but I didn’t get a chance to go into Saks on 5th Avenue. Though in retrospect it’s probably good that I didn’t go in. Would have come out broke :)

        I do have Color Added but the yellow looks weird on me. I like the teal though (Pre Packaged, I think?). I need to work with it more. Today I’m wearing Amber Lights with Shop & Drop (the dark purpley blue shade). You know, I do have Petrol blue but I always forget that I have it because I got it years as part of the Art Supplies collection. I need to use it more. Got about 3/4 left.

        I saw Temptalia posting sneek peeks of Extra Dimension. It looks nice so far :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

