Lemon Cake with Lemon Vanilla Glaze

Lemon Cake with Lemon Glaze 1

Lemon Cake with Lemon Glaze 1

I’ve been meaning to bake the past few days but I kept putting it off because I was guilty about not going to the gym this week and being a tad lazy. I was just tired of the routine and rules (low carb, high protein, no sugar, etc.) and wanted to break free for 5 days. So that was exactly what I did. Skipped gym, ate moderately healthy meals, ate some ice-cream, treated myself to some makeup for completing a work project, and so on.

Today, I didn’t have a very productive day at work – played the waiting game for a lot of tasks – patience was never my middle name. I came home thinking that I have to do _something_ so that I will feel like I accomplished something today.

I decided to bake a cake. I found the ingredients quickly. Prepared them while the boyfriend cooked a quick dinner. Ate dinner and set to baking.

You can find the recipe here.

Here’s a closer look at the tangy but delicious glaze.

Lemon Cake with Lemon Glaze 2

Lemon Cake with Lemon Glaze 2

4 responses

  1. Haha, the “in-laws” are not here yet. This was kind of a trial run. Will make another one on Tuesday I guess.

    Of course I saved you a piece – can’t mess with the Mom-to-be, no?

    • You know what, I would have gone with a trial run too if I’m baking/cooking something for the first time if I knew someone else besides the hubby was going to eat it, hehe.

      YAY, you’re right, you dont mess πŸ™‚

      • Yeah, the boyfriend has no choice but to eat what I bake πŸ˜‰ Hah. But for guests…they get trial runs.

        I made a bit of mistake with the Lemon Cake though – the top part wasn’t very even. Hoping to fix that when I bake it tomorrow.

        But I also want to go to the MAC store to swatch Stereo Rose and Petticoat for fun. See if they suit my skin tone or not (I’m becoming very vain as the years go by :)) .. so it’ll most probably be rush to MAC, rush and cook dinner, rush and bake, crash at 11pm.

Leave a Reply

