Feeding My Travel Addiction

There’s something about packing my luggage and heading out the door that brings about a special thrill.

This weekend, I”m heading off to Bergen for a quick trip with the boyfriend and his parents.

I’ve borrowed this photo from Wikipedia. I’m hoping to take some good photographs there, so I’ve got my fingers crossed for the weather – I really, really hope it does not rain. In Bergen it rains so much that umbrellas are available in vending machines. I’ve also heard that it can rain for 80 odd days in a row. Please don’t rain 😦

I’m also going to San Francisco in November, hopefully *ringers and toes crossed*. Would be awesome to travel then instead of staying in Oslo and moping over not being able to be home for Diwali and see my little niece on her 2nd birthday. *Grumble*

Oh well –  you win some, you lose some.

12 responses

  1. Oooo looks like a great place for a relaxing weekend! Will be praying that it doesn’t rain for you 🙂 Enjoy and can’t wait to read your updates!

  2. Hi Fieran,

    That looks so amazing! I don’t really travel as much as I’d like to, but when I do it’s usually South East Asia. Would love to do Europe some time in the near future.

    But 80 days of rain?? Whoa.

    • Indeed, it’s a rainy town 🙂 I’ll write a proper post on the trip soon. I never really traveled around South East Asia when I lived in Malaysia – kind of regret it these days now that it costs and arm and leg to travel from Norway to Asia in the first place 😦

  3. I’m guessing you’re home from Bergen now – how was it? Hope you had a wonderful, rainless time! Oh, and I really hope you get to go to San Francisco too! That seems like such a beautiful place =)

    • Hehe, it rained 2 out of the 3 days in Bergen. It’s a beautiful city though – so much charm and history. It’s very different from Oslo. The people are so friendly – service is amazing – they are so patient. I also like how they wear nice clothing, just hold a big umbrella and brave the rain. I guess the rain is a way of life for them.

      My boyfriend’s parents went on a 4 hour fjord cruise – I don’t have that kind of patience, but in the future I’d like to go on that cruise for sure. The Hanseatisk Museum was quite spooky with the old wooden buildings (in Bryggen). You look up and there’s a dried fish staring at you. It was a very interesting lifestyle though, and I’m really convinced that people in the 18th century were shorter than us – their beds were tiny and it’s like a cupboard where you go in and slide the wooden cover – best way get claustrophobia! 🙂 I’ll write a proper post and put up some piccies.

      Have you been to Bergen? Did you like it? 🙂

      • I’m glad you had fun! Even if you had 2/3rds rain. I’ve heard great things about the city though, so I’d like to go sometime – but usually we’re not tempted to travel in Norway for pleasure, mostly for family visits and seminars and such.

        I love how they all wear nice clothing! I always feel so stupid in my rain jacket and boots 🙂 I should take a lesson from these guys. I’ve never seen an outfit of the day with anyone wearing a Nike Gore-tex jacket 😉

        And yeah, I definitely think they were shorter back then. I wonder what made us taller? 🙂

Leave a Reply

