The Perfect Butter Cake

Vanilla Butter Cake

Butter cakes are a bit tricky for me – I want to make them, but at the same time I’m never too sure how they will turn out. I’ve had some recipes turn out dry and crumbly and I’ve also had some good cakes that are nice and smooth and smell like a little piece of heaven.

My problem is that I never really save my recipes. They are used once and then totally forgotten – unless it’s a dinner dish or something, then I kind of memorize the recipe (or ask Google in a hurry) and keep making it till I don’t need to think about the ingredient measurement anymore.

This butter cake recipe from GroupRecipes.com – is going to be in my Mailbox for a long, long time. I e-mailed it to myself 🙂

I like a slight fruity zing so I usually add two tablespoons of lemon/orange zest with the juice of one lemon/orange juice as well.


Vanilla Butter Cake

Ingredients

1/2 cup butter,at room temperature
3/4 cup sugar
2 eggs,at room temperature
1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup milk

Directions

  • Preheat the oven to 170 C.Position a rack on the second lowest shelf of the oven.
  • Butter an 8 inch baking pan. Line base and sides with non-stick baking paper.
  • Sift the flour and baking powder into a medium bowl.
  • Beat butter and sugar until fluffy.
  • Add the eggs,one at a time;beat after each addition.
  • Combine milk and vanilla in a bowl.
  • Add  flour and milk alternately to beaten mixture;beating till combined.
  • Spoon the batter into the prepared pan.
  • Bake for 30-35 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.
  • Cool the cake in the pan for 5 minutes.
  • Remove cake from pan.Let the cake cool completely before icing or frosting.

Vanilla Butter Cake 2

8 responses

  1. My tummy is begging for that slice of butter cake. It really looks soo good, reminds me of my mom’s butter cake. Looks so fluffy and soft 🙂 Going to try to make it one day. You got any good icing recipe to go with it?

  2. I have been cooking so much, but can you believe that I’ve not made a butter cake before?? The closest I’ve come is a banana cake 😛

Leave a Reply

