Craving German Cheesecake

I was reading a friend’s blog today and the comments revolved around food (what else?) and I had a sudden craving for cheesecake. I need to spend some time either making one (hopefully Philadelphia Cream Cheese should be able to replace Quark) or hunt down a cafe that serves a good cheesecake. Interestingly, I cannot find good cheesecake in Oslo. Anybody have any recommendations? Now if you want Pecan Pie, then Nighthawk Diner is your answer – but cheesecake, nowhere yet 😦

Let’s just drool at this slice I had in Germany, for now, shall we?

Cheesecake at Aran

6 responses

  1. You temptress! That looks absolutely delicious! πŸ™‚ My husband makes a really delicious baked cheesecake similar to that one. I usually try to persuade him NOT to bake πŸ˜€

    • Oooh your husband makes baked cheesecake? I want some 😦

      That cake is from a cafe in Germany (it’s actually a chain of cafes) known as Aran. If you’re ever in Munich (I think the airport has a branch) or Konstanz, do try out that place. It’s like a German Starbucks πŸ™‚ Very different interior with lots of wood and leather. They make their own chocolate, cakes, and bread. “Aran” means “Bread” in Arabic, if I’m not mistaken.

  2. I’m starting to wonder if it will be profitable to open up a cheesecake shop in Oslo. At least I know I would have one loyal customer – YOU, hehe πŸ™‚

    Quite random – do you remember the Cheesecake Shop here in KL a few years ago?

    • Hah, don’t count on me. Someday I hope to be able to look cake in the eye and say “You and I are over.” But that’s not happening anytime soon, I guess.

      It is possible to open a nice bake shop (or cheesecake shop) but it will be pricey to import all the ingredients. A lot of restaurants that import ingredients actually have a small section where they sell these ingredients themselves.

      Then again, a slice of cake is about 33 to 46 NOK (23 to 41 MYR) so you can make the expenses back. When are you opening this shop? πŸ™‚ I get to be your cake tester okay?

      • Wait, a slice of cake is RM41???? I bet if I send over a few slices to you with shipping included it wouldn’t be that expensive, hehe. Is that their way of stopping people from getting fat there ah? Make desserts really expensive!!

      • Haha, it’s just the foreign exchange is very strange with NOK to MYR. Actually I think the Norwegian’s weakness is not cake but ice-cream. They eat ice-cream all year round, even when it’s cold.

Leave a Reply

