A Productive Weekend

I’ve switched gyms, now I walk past my old gym with a smirk to get to the new gym πŸ˜‰ Tried out a spinning class today – ouch. I’m going to hurt tomorrow.

So, what did I do in the weekend?

Let’s see, on Friday the bf and I cooked prawn and vegetable tempura with sushi rice and tentsuyu (tempura dipping sauce). I’m not very good at frying tempura, but the results were much better than my previous attempts. I read that one of the tricks is to use very cold water for the batter.

Prawn and Vegetable Tempura with Sushi Rice (and Tentsuyu)

Prawn and Vegetable Tempura with Sushi Rice (and Tentsuyu)

Tempura recipes are available all over online so I’m not going to post any here πŸ™‚

Saturday I made brunch – Wholewheat Oatmeal and Banana Pancakes with Yoghurt and Blueberries. These were quite yummy despite being the healthy kind of meal.

Wholewheat Oatmeal and Banana Pancakes

I love pancakes on weekends when I don’t have to get ready for work and can lounge around in pyjamas with a pot of tea. The recipe is available here.

Now I’m saving the best for last here. Today’s lunch and dinner was an extremely delicious Tarte FlambΓ©e d’Alsace orΒ ElsΓ€sser Flammkuchen. So what’s a Flammkuchen anyway? It’s like a German/French pizza – where tomatoes are not allowed πŸ™‚ It’s got a cream based topping instead. I’ve eaten it in Berlin and Ravensburg before and the bf craves authentic German food – hence the attempt at making this dish.

I got the recipe from Meeta’s blogΒ here. Meeta is not only an amazing chef but she also takes wonderful photographs of her dishes. Someday I want to cook like her πŸ˜‰ but for now I’ll just drool at her dishes.

The dish is a bit minimalist in the sense that there are only bacon cubes and onion slices on top of the cream topping. But don’t underestimate the taste – sweet onions, salty bacon and delicious mix of creme fraiche and sour cream πŸ™‚

Flammkuchen

Rolling dough into round shapes is not one of my strengths. Here’s a closer look:

Flammkuchen

It’s nice to make a dish that reminds me of my vacation time in Berlin and Ravensburg. If you’re looking to try a different kind of pizza-esque recipe, please try this one. You won’t regret it.

Apart from cooking, I’ve been watching seasons of Criminal Minds. It’s quite interesting but also very sad because it showcases humans in a very dark manner. Worth a watch though.

How did your weekend go? πŸ™‚

12 responses

  1. I’m damn lucky for coming to your site rightttttt before lunch time coz I’m getting hungry looking at those photos as I type this out. And yes I”m off to quickly tapau some lunch right now πŸ™‚

    I think I might have had the Flammkuchen in Ittalinies. I could be wrong but the dough looks just like it and it had cheese toppings to go with it. Very light and tasty!

    And I’ve recently become a Criminal Minds fan too! They show it everyday on Fox channel here.

    • Ohh that’s likely – that Italiannies has it – though I’ve only been there -once- before leaving for Norway. I loved their calamari salad. I bet you tapau-ed something delicious πŸ™‚ Make the pizza lah this weekend. Ask your hubby to knead the dough or buy you a Kitchen Aid (I’m a bad influence).

    • But but but I’m too lazy la! Hmm pizza this weekend sounds good, it’s been a while since I’ve had it. Anyway, when you’re back in Malaysia and craving for some Flammkuchen, you know where to get it now. I hope it’s the same thing though else dinner will be on me πŸ™‚

  2. I cannot find sushi rice here. Harrummph. Otherwise i’d be tempted to try. Looks good. If I use regular rice, its just gonna be like nasi goreng :/

    Never made pizza either, what more Flammkuchen. I have no luck with dough. Tho I’m dying to try a pie recipe soon. I’ve not watched Criminal Minds tho its showing, too many series on TV to follow lol. But I did watch Dexter some time back, and had disturbing dreams for quite some time.

    And yes Cas, get a KitchenAid. A PINK one, or a RED one! πŸ˜€

    • Actually I think regular rice can be used. Alternately, use brown rice – gives a slight bite that really complements the sauce.

      Hm, I use a dough attachment for my mixer – it kneads pretty well – looks like a spiral.

      Here they sell ready made pie base – I should probably get a pie tray but I’m afraid I’ll make something sweet instead of savoury. Itching to try a quiche – but haven’t gotten there yet.

      Dexter is a bit too much for me – I stopped watching it. The bf loves it though. I watch a lot of other episodes though – keeps me sane in a strange way πŸ™‚

      @Cas: the red one is gorgeous, a friend of mine had it. I think I want a black one in two years’ time πŸ™‚

      • They have ready made pastry here too, the Buitoni sort. But I always feel as if I’m cheating πŸ˜› so I’m gonna try to make it from scratch.

        I made a quiche Lorraine once in Msia, it was soooo good. I wish I had a quiche dish here, so I can make it again. Hmm, now I must get a pie dish AND a quiche dish. Lemme know if you want the quiche recipe, I’ll email it to you.

        Cas, I’m gonna order the red one soon πŸ˜€ I think you would like the pink better πŸ˜‰

      • Yeah, Cas needs everything in Pink now since she’s on a rose kick πŸ˜‰

        Ooh I don’t mind the recipe. Might try it this weekend.

  3. Oh Fieran, you make such delicious food! Makes my mouth water πŸ™‚ I’m good, had an excellent weekend with a bit of work and a bit of play – but now I’m off work so it’s all play! πŸ™‚

    And good luck with your spinning! I remember how that felt in the beginning πŸ˜‰ Love to hear how you progress!

    • I’m not much of a cook though, really. I only learned to cook 5 years ago, out of desperation when I moved out of my parents’ home to live as a student in a foreign country.

      I’m glad you had a good weekend πŸ™‚ I’m jealous that you’re going to UK soon… if you feel like eating Indian food, try Masala Zone. It’s a really cool restaurant – there are many branches (all with different interior design) but the one in Covent Garden is the best because the ceiling is full of Rajasthani puppets (http://blufiles.storage.live.com/y1pNdT-yv3o7T_VnR8oSTx2kvqgfkgGK0PZXTKlhfXGdBQjCzDqaGt7Mg-ntVPxWhI0SA8MIN7OvIc) – it’s really cool. Some of their dishes are typical street food you get in India.

      • Ooo, I love Masala Zone! Been there quite a few times. Other chain favourites include Wagamama for dinner, Pret for lunch πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

