Shortcrust Pastry

….is not one of my many talents, unfortunately. I tried to make a quiche yesterday for which whimsicaljottings gave me a recipe. The quiche was beautiful – the taste, the aroma it infused my kitchen with *happy sigh*. The only challenge was the pastry. I’ve never made shortcrust pastry before – now I know why πŸ˜‰

It was easy to mix everything together – but the shortening was rock solid so I wasn’t sure how it was going to melt. I also had a lot of difficulty rolling out the dough (after keeping it in the fridge for 45 minutes) because it kept breaking.

I’m going to try this again another day – maybe make the pastry with a food processor instead of manually. Can’t admit defeat so easily πŸ™‚

For the record, the quiche was awesome. Here’s a photo (taken quickly with my phone) to prove it:

Bacon and Onion Quiche

*My dream is to make a Pecan Pie but I’m afraid I’ll end up eating the whole pie myself without sharing any and go into sugar coma. But it would be worth it right? I can’t decide on that just yet.

3 responses

  1. I’ve never made pastry in my life either. But yours is a pretty good first attempt, no? And I think she’s going to start charging us for every recipe we copy off her blog, hehehe πŸ™‚ I HOPE NOT!

    • Hehehe, she might charge us!

      The pastry was alright – but I cheated – I couldn’t roll it out so I started to roll small pieces and “tampal” them on the tray. I also rubbed butter on my hands to handle the dough better.

  2. Woot! Now Im hungry for some quiche, and all I’ve got in the fridge is some milk and 1 miserable egg. (Finishing up stuff before we leave to Sweden) It does look gooooood. I have very little luck with pastry too, you should hear how I curse like a sailor when I work on pastry πŸ˜€ I’m gonna try Joy The Baker’s pastry recipe next. She made it look so easy in her VLOG.

    Charge for my recipes? Nahhh, I’m stoked if someone actually tries my recipes. Sharing is caring! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

