Satisfied Cravings

There’s nothing like getting exactly what you were dreaming about for ~36 hours, right?

Thai Takeout - Green Curry with Chicken

Yes, I need better lighting 😦 Β That aside, I was craving Thai food since I read whimsicaljottings‘ post on an awesome Thai place in Sweden. Yes, my friends, Thai food has gone places – now if only Indian food like masala thosais, idlis, uppumas, venthiya kulambu, honey chicken (Indian muslim dish – very popular in Malaysian 24 hour restaurants [yes, we have restaurants that are open 24 hours – selling full meals, not just kebabs]) would go places too!Β But, I digress. I managed to convince the bf that we should eat Thai food today; didn’t take any effort.

*Happy sigh* The Green Curry was awesome. Now where do you get amazing Thai food in Oslo? Easy:Β Nam Fah

or Tasty Thai. Authentic, spicy and delicious Thai food served in a comfortable environment – you won’t be disappointed. Nam Fah has both a takeout branch and a sit in branch.

(I haven’t been to Thailand before, though, unless you count crossing the border at Golok as a child.)

So, now that the food craving was satisfied, I walked past Shoe Lounge. Shoe Lounge is a really nice shoe store (they have three branches in Oslo) that has international shoe brands like Clarks and Marc Jacobs. Those are way beyond my budget so I settled for this pair that was on 70% discount.

Sneakers for Autumn

Silver shoes, yo! Back to the 80s. Honestly, they are a little loud, but I figured they would work perfectly for rainy Autumn as they are high tops and will match dull black jackets and boring black umbrellas.

Here’s a close up:

Sneakers for Autumn, Close up

Love the hexagonal detailing on the sides. They were a steal!

Ahem, these would work well for a holiday that requires a lot of walking in a slightly foggy, windy city like San Francisco right?

12 responses

  1. Yeah, the curry was terrific. I like how the portion is small, it’s not possible to overeat. And they’re not afraid of putting plenty of fresh chili – I appreciate that πŸ™‚

    • Indeed, I think it’s one of the most authentic – not toned down – Thai restaurants around Oslo. Would you be able to choose between Tasty Thai and Nam Fah? πŸ™‚

      • I haven’t been at TT for a while, so my memory isn’t very fresh. I also thought Nam Fah is a lot more low profile and toned down, but then again: TT is also “just a place in some corner” with crates of beverages stacked up πŸ˜‰

        In other words: If I had to choose then it would be entirely by proximity.

        Where’s that categorized list again of top-ten restaurants in Oslo? πŸ˜‰

      • I’m not a food connoisseur though 😦 I’m a bit embarrassed to make a list… but you’re right, probably should add it to my “Oslo” section.

      • Yes – I am, actually! Am starting school for first time in VERY long time, so excited and terrified at once. And I do love fall, if people have seasons I’m definitely fall. I like the more covering clothes and gentle wind πŸ™‚ Are you a fall fan? πŸ™‚

      • Hmm, I’m not sure if I’m a fan or not – I love the leaves and the colours – but I don’t like the rainy days…

        I do love wearing jackets with soft, floral scarves, etc. I guess you can say I am a bit of a fan πŸ™‚ I haven’t lived in 4 seasons long enough to appreciate each season.

  2. Teehee. Sorry I *made* you crave for Thai πŸ˜‰ I had Thai food at the same joint for 3 nights, and we’ve only been here 4 nights. It’s Thai again tonight. Yup its that good. And those hi-tops are cool! I see loads of girls in hi-tops in Sweden now.

    • Hehe, it’s okay. It was bound to happen – seeing as we all blog about food. *HUG* I hope you’re having fun in Sweden!

      I like those hi-tops too, reminds me of my tomboy childhood days πŸ™‚

  3. CUTE SHOES but you had me at Thai food. The green curry looks awesome! And in a way it’s good that one can find thai food anywhere in the world coz it’s super yummy and can definitely feed our craving.

    • Hehe, thanks.

      Yes, Thai food is just awesome. It’s like a little piece of heaven – always cheers me up to eat something sweet and spicy like this black chili chicken dish they have a Nam Fah. It’s divine!

Leave a Reply

