Trying out New Things

I’m having a little bit of a dilemma here. I can’t decide whether I want: Kindle or Clarisonic?

Kindle or Clarisonic?

See, the bf is going to USA next week for work, and I’ve been offered one of two choices – and I just cannot decide.

Getting the Kindle means I won’t be able to buy real books anymore. I love books – just buying a good book cheers me up; actually finishing a good book makes my day. But then Kindle books are actually cheaper and I’ll be able to buy way more books than the variety available here. There are heaps of wonderful books on Amazon πŸ™‚ Kindle would be awesome for long haul torture flights.

Getting the Clarisonic means I’ll be one step closer to better skin. I admit that my skin is not really good – it changes with the weather and can either be extremely oily or dry and flaky. I’ve read wonderful reviews about the Clarisonic – but there are people who claim that it didn’t do anything special for them.

To be honest, it is possible to get both – but I don’t want to be greedy 😦

So, what do you think? πŸ™‚

Gadgets aside, I tried out a Zumba class yesterday. Man, it was intense: 55 minutes of non stop moving. I can’t dance so I probably looked really silly doing those moves but I was there with a Portuguese friend who can definitely shake those hips πŸ™‚ It was a lot of fun though. The instructor was a really good dancer – at one point he did Single Ladies – I’m sure Lady B would have been pleased.

I wonder if I should keep at it? It’s a good cardio workout – only downside is the floor can get a little slippery.

Can’t believe it’s Friday tomorrow – I have a Saturday brunch appointment with my awesome landlord, his girlfriend and a mutual friend. Looking forward πŸ™‚

12 responses

  1. Choices, choices. It’s a good thing to have to choose. Having everything won’t make us happier, it will just give us more to put in our drawers and cabinets πŸ™‚

    Zumba sounds fun! I’m going on Monday, never been before. If it was fun and you got sweaty, then keep at it! The good thing about not being good at something is that you get better with time πŸ™‚

  2. Aww I don’t mind having more to put in my drawers and cabinets. Oh wait, I did not say that. You’re right – it’s just clutter.

    “The good thing about not being good at something is that you just get better with time.” Oh Pinchy, will this apply to my being bad at losing weight? πŸ™‚ I hope it does.

    Zumba is quite fun actually – my sides are sore so I must have done something right yesterday evening. I’m thinking of going for the class again next week. You’re like my long lost friend at the other end of Norge. Just like unrequited love – our friendship is not meant to be *dramatic sigh* Hehehe πŸ™‚

    • Seems to me like you’re being very hard on yourself, Fieran πŸ™‚ You say you’re bad at losing weight – do you have realistic goals? You’ll get there in the end, I’m sure πŸ™‚

      Hey, we’ll be zumba-makeup-food-blog-friends! πŸ™‚ How cool is that! πŸ™‚

      • Yes, yes, realistic goals but strange genetics and average BMI so the closer you are to your BMI – the more difficult it is to lose, no?

        Hope to get there in the end, will work on it. Have my 2 free Personal Training sessions to schedule – need to get a hot personal trainer to inspire me *evil laugh*

        Very cool! Did you try the Miso Cod? How was it?

      • Yes, it’s always more difficult to lose weight if you don’t have so much of it πŸ˜‰

        Unfortunately I didn’t get to try the miso cod – when it came down to it I didn’t bother to go shopping, especially when I was only cooking for me. Ended up with panfried cod fillet with green salad and a tomato-shallot-balsamic salad πŸ™‚ It was good, though I’d like to try the miso cod one day! πŸ™‚

      • Ahh okay. Pan fried cod sounds awesome – is it difficult to make? How do you season it? I haven’t cooked cod before so am quite curious. Miso glazed cod is Chef Nobu’s speciality – but from what I read (in an issue of Vogue magazine where he gave the recipe) he marinates it for 2 days or something like that. I also think he puts a little of sake in it. Have you tried it in the branch in London? I was there for my 25th birthday – extremely good stuff.

      • There’s not much to it, really. I take fillets, dry them with paper, and season with salt and pepper, put them skin-down in a medium-hot frying pan with a bit of oil, and then fry them for a couple of minutes each side. It should be flaky but still moist – better under than overcooked.

        I’ve only been served steamed cod before – oh, and fried, of course, fish and chips-style πŸ™‚ I like it pan-fried because it’s still nice and juicy without too much fat going on πŸ™‚ Very easy and delicious dinner!

  3. KINDLE! Only coz I dont believe devices like that can make the skin better. Only visits to the dermatologist can. I’ve tried all kinds of products previously for my skin and nothing worked! But I have no doubts that IF you pamper your man in the next few days, you might just get both πŸ˜‰ Ahem.

    • Oh no, I don’t want to see a dermatologist. I feel bad taking medication for the skin. The bf has this belief that the body can heal itself. I didn’t really believe him because I was a bit of a pill popper – vitamin C, panadol, vitamin E, etc… but I see that he’s right in some ways because eating healthy and being active seems to prevent me from getting the flu more often than when I used to take Vitamin C. I’m hoping to figure out my skin by not taking medication – but you are right – eventually I might have to see a derm.. doctors scare me though. *Shudder*

      • OK I have no idea how bad your skin is (something tells me you’re just being paranoid about it) but mine was pretty bad. I tried EVERYTHING la, including changing my diet yet couldn’t cure it. I blame it on the bad genes and hormones la. Anyways if you come back, there’s this awesome doctor called Dr Ranjit in SS15. He’s so far the most affordable derm around and will prescribe you meds accordingly unlike most docs who would just push for the most expensive drug available eg:roaccutane. But anyway KINDLE still gets my vote :p

        P.s: Vitamin C does help alot – I take 2 everyday!

Leave a Reply

