Lazy Sundays are Good for the Soul

This is my regular weekend post – posted on Monday instead of Sunday.

I spent Saturday hanging out with my landlord and his girlfriend who were visiting. It’s always nice to meet up with him because I really value having a good landlord. I thought it would be tricky to have your friend as your landlord but he’s proven me wrong. We seem to have developed this routine (without any planning) where the only way we discuss apartment related issues is through e-mail. Otherwise we have each other on Facebook and talk like friends.

Hanuta 12-pack

The photograph above is what I got as a gift from my landlord – a 12-pack box of Hanuta. Hanuta is like Nutella++ (in Geek it means that it’s even better than Nutella). Basically it’s Hazelnut flavoured chocolate paste between two thin sandwich biscuits. Extremely yummy. Unfortunately, you can only get it in Germany. This box of 12 is a joke actually because once, when the landlord was talking about it, I asked the bf to get me some when he goes to Germany. Guess what? The bf came back with _one_ Hanuta, literally _one_ and I was a bit sad because it turned out to be so yummy but there was no more left for later. So this time, I was given a box of 12 to tease the bf. I gave him five as “supplements” for his trip to Boston this week πŸ™‚

For brunch I had Eggs Benedict at Nighthawk Diner – first time in my life! I didn’t even know that I could get Eggs Benedict in Oslo πŸ™‚ Totally made my day.

Eggs Benedict @ Nighthawk Diner

It was a really good dish – but you must like eggs with runny yolk otherwise you might not enjoy it. I’m really curious how they managed to poach the eggs to look like fluffy little white clouds on your plate. It’s a shame a photograph cannot convey the taste and the satisfaction behind the meal – or the aroma for that matter.

By the way, I recently read in The Monocle that the best Eggs Benedict in London is at The Wolseley. According to my test subject (I bugged a friend to try it on my behalf), it was good; he also got their pancakes. So if you’re around London and craving Eggs Benedict, you know where to go. Reservations recommended, though.

Blast from the Past

I was cooking for myself only on Sunday so I decided to make something I did frequently as a student some 4 years ago: Rice with Battered Fish Fillet and Furikake powder (Furikake is Japanese rice seasoning, there are various flavours available; I think mine is Salmon flavoured).As a student, Battered Fish Fillets were my staple food because my Mom said that Fish = Brain food. These fillets cost almost nothing (back then) and tasted really good with a squeeze of lemon juice.

Battered Fish Fillet with Brown Rice and Furikake

This time I made it with Brown Rice and ate the same dish for lunch and dinner as I was too tired post gym to attempt to make anything else. Oh, the gym is kicking my butt these days. I come home feeling quite beat and the next day I get a taste of old age πŸ™‚ I hope in a month from now I’ll be in better shape and won’t be so sore anymore.

Enough of gym talk. I need some ideas as to where to go and what to do to be able to earn 2800 frequent flier miles. Do you guys have any suggestions? I am [ ] this close to becoming a Frequent Flier – I’d really like to get that status as it means way more comfort when taking long haul flights. *Fingers crossed* I’ll get there, hopefully.

Looks like I didn’t really cook this weekend, huh. I’m a wee bit guilty for being lazy – but I did spend some time cleaning up the apartment and helping the bf pack for his business trip. It’s funny how he doesn’t know how many pieces of clothing he owns or which type he owns. Must be a man thing, maybe? Because I can roughly count the number of pairs of jeans, shorts, socks, tops, sweaters, etc. that I have.

How was your weekend?

5 responses

  1. The hubs is a Frequent Flier *this close* to a Senator with Miles & More (Lufthansa). He says that only some of the lounges are good and comes with nice food. If I remember correctly, he said the KLIA lounge was best, comes with piping hot curry mee and the likes (YUP, we’re allll about the food). When he gets to be a Senator, he can bring in a guest too. When we flew to Copenhagen to come to Sweden, he had to transit at Munich, and he smuggled some food out for me, heh.

    Fly to Italy/Greece maybe? πŸ˜‰

    Oh, I saw mirin at the supermarket and thought of you. What do you use it for anyway? Sushi rice?

    • Yeahhh, the bf is a Frequent Flier with Lufthansa. You know, if you travel to Malaysia via Frankfurt, the Frequent Flier status gives you access to Frankfurt Airport Lounge. Now this lounge has nice snacks and such – but the best part is the shower area. It’s like a dream come true to have a shower after so many hours of travel. The shower area is like individual bathrooms with hair dryer, L’Occitane shower gel and shampoo, etc. I so want access to that! [I got upgraded once in February on my way back from KL to Oslo – it was wonderful]

      Italy or Greece? Hm, I was really thinking of London in October but there are no nice flights at all. Nice flights meaning that I can leave Friday morning and be back Sunday evening – and only take one day off.

      So I’m still looking πŸ™‚

  2. Ahh, those eggs look so delicious! And the snacks too. All so tempting, Fieran πŸ˜‰ I’m glad you had a nice, lazy weekend! πŸ™‚ My weekend was good. It included wine. Weekends with wine = me happy. Doesn’t take more than that πŸ™‚

  3. I saw that Hanuta photo and Nutella first came to mind!! I believe you when you say it’s extremely yummy. Now I’m craving for some nutella. AND your Battered Fish Fillet with Brown Rice and Furikake looks sooo good. Mmm wanna share the recipe for the battered fish fillet pleaseee?

    • Errr they’re from the Supermarket frozen section πŸ™‚ (Feeling shy now)

      Tesco should have it – get the beer battered kind (can make it otherwise but too much hassle, you should rest :))

      Alternatively you can just eat in Manhattan Fish Market πŸ™‚ Love their Barramundi.

Leave a Reply

