Makeup and The Geek

I’ve been playing around a lot with eye makeup for the past couple of months – it’s a little bit of a newfound obsession. Call it ‘catching up on lost time’ as I never really bothered about makeup until I moved to Norway and realised – it is time to start looking like a girl. Nothing reminds you more of your gender when you work in a male dominated industry. When I first started working in Oslo, I was the only girl in my department (there were girls in other sections).

I guess you could say “woman” but I usually like to blog in spoken English – hence guys and girls.

So one fine day, about a month and a half into living in Norway and with only a single MAC Studio Fix (my sisters had convinced me previously that I need to use a little bit of powder) and some simple lip glosses, I realized it was time to venture into the makeup world. I looked up the nearest MAC store Β (3 years ago there was only one in Glasmagasinet) and dropped by. I explained to the Make up Artist (MUA) that I had spent most of my teenage years hidden behind a book or the other and could use a little bit of help on the basics of makeup.

About 20 minutes later, I left the store with the MAC Studio Fix Liquid, two cute little pans of eyeshadow (Mulch and Grain to be exact) and a MAC 217 brush and a MAC 228 brush (to smudge out the eyeliner). I had an old black eyeliner that I had no clue how to use so I thought I’ll play around with that first before splurging more on MAC.

Flash forward to now, I have more makeup that I can use (I’m a bit of a hoarder ;)) and am still always on the lookout for new and cool stuff. I have also successfully educated the bf in the fine art of cosmetic shopping πŸ™‚ So nowadays I just sit back and watch bids on e-Bay, get tempted by Eyeko, read tons of make up and beauty blogs (MBB/IMBB/Shamini’s Diary/PinchyPeach/IcySwirls/VonvonsInterests/Temptalia, etc.) and constantly try to learn something new about makeup.

Last weekend I tried out the NARS Kalahari eyeshadow duo (there are a lot of swatches online) with a bit of MAC Mulch on the crease. I’m not a makeup expert, but PinchyPeach wanted to see what it looked like, so here goes:

The Kalahari Experiment

The eyeshadow looks a lot more natural in real than it does in this photo.Β This was with the Urban Decay Primer Potion and after a good 4 hours or so. This mild creasing is nothing compared to what it would have looked like minus the primer (I’m cursed with oily lids). The contrast of this photograph has been tweaked a lot to show the slight shimmer of the eyeshadow. The eyeliner is a classic matte black (I think it’s an old Christian Dior I picked up at duty free a year ago).

Excuse the under eye wrinkles – I’m getting old πŸ™‚

8 responses

  1. First of all I think it looks great on you, and I hope you’ll share more makeup pictures with us in the future. Second I want to thank you so much for the mention! I’m honored. πŸ™‚ And third.. eye wrinkles are just a testimony to having smiled a lot. I remember thinking that mom’s eye wrinkles were the very best thing about her when I was a kid. πŸ™‚

    • Aww you’re too kind Shamini πŸ™‚

      I am learning how to take better photos of the makeup. We’ll see, have to build some confidence first.

      You’re welcome. Wouldn’t have known about the Sleek palettes if it weren’t for your blog. I recently got Storm – the colours are beautiful – takes 5 minutes to do a quick look.

      I hope that’s why I have eye wrinkles then. I read that it is partly due to eye allergies (which I have thanks to hay fever). I’d rather believe your reason πŸ™‚

  2. Oooh, thanks! I feel so honored that you would go through all that trouble just for me ❀ Thanks a lot!

    It does look very beautiful on you. And the eyeliner looks so smooth! You did that with a pencil? I would never be able to do that πŸ™‚ Thanks a gazillion, Fieran! ❀

    • Ah, it was no trouble. It’s about time I post some of these photos otherwise I’ll just seem like a Make Up Black Hole πŸ˜‰ It’s a good excuse to keep using my stash. Thanks for the compliment.

      I did it with the Christian Dior Crayon Eyeliner (http://www.sephora.com/browse/product.jhtml?id=P99902) – got it with my sister in KL AIrport end of last year I think. They sell it here – but I’m quite sure they are more worth it in duty free. I used the MAC 228 and the smudger that comes with the liner to even out the line a bit; but the eyeliner is pretty smooth.

  3. omg yay, anyother makeup addict (im one too hehe) i started late like yourself, so glad im not the only one! lol i started in uni, after all the high school craze was over πŸ˜› but i think ive made up for it hehe
    i have to agree, mac is amazingggggg ❀

    • Yeah, I’m a bit of a MAC addict because they have colours that match everybody. It’s not very cheap in Norway though – but it’s a bit cheaper than Chanel and Clarins for sure.

  4. Good job! That’s a look I like to use to work. It’s clean, easy and simple to do. You’re pretty good at lining your eyes despite being new at it. I still mess it up from time to time. But makeup is fun isn’t it, esp when you have tons of free time at hand, hehe. You should go for a nice black/grey smokey eyelook, very sexy look indeed.

Leave a Reply

