Italian Tomato Soup

This recipe is specially for my vegetarian blog reader, DancingOrange.

 

Italian Tomato Soup

 

I love a good soup, especially on a cold night. This tomato soup is really simple to make. I can’t remember where I got the recipe from, but here goes.

You need four key ingredients:

  • Tomato puree
  • Tomato juice
  • Chopped Tomatoes
  • Some form of cream – either Mascarpone (supposedly the most fattening cheese available) or normal cooking cream (double cream, etc.)

Heat up your soup pot and fry a little bit of garlic, onions or both with olive oil. Then, fry the tomato puree for a few minutes and add in chopped tomatoes. As you cook this mixture for a good 10-15 minutes, watch for the oil to be visible. This is a sign that the tomatoes are cooked. Spice the soup as you like – I use an Italian spice mix from Nomu. You can add any spice you like – cinammon, nutmeg, cardamom, oregano, basil, parsley, rosemary, thyme, anything. Do add a bit of salt and pepper as well (but you can do this towards the end when you finally tweak the soup’s taste to suit your taste-buds). Next, add in the tomato juice. This is the ingredient that determines the consistency of your soup. I let this mixture simmer for awhile (20 minutes or so) then I blend it in my food processor. Lastly heat the blended mixture and add in the cream. This is a bit tricky because sometimes if the temperature is too hot, the cream tends to separate a little bit – like you can see little white spots. So, try to add in the cream before the soup gets too hot. Basically you add the cream and switch off the stove.

Tomato soup is delicious garnished with some basil pesto and eaten with garlic bread.

# So, Fieran. You gave me a recipe without measurements. What were you thinking? Hah, in case you were wondering about the measurements, this depends on how much soup you want. For two portions (to feed two hungry people), I use about 2 tablespoons of tomato puree, 4 whole tomatoes (chopped into quarters..the heat will reduce their size, not to mention the processing later), sometimes I use 1 medium onion (or no onions), about 1 teaspoon of garlic paste or 2 cloves of fresh garlic, etc. For the tomato juice, use about 300ml first, then adjust the consistency with more if needed. As for the cream, I use about 4 tablespoons or something. If you’re using Mascarpone, 1/3 of the 250g tub is a good amount.

3 responses

  1. Hi there I happen to stumble accross your blog and I read yr whole blog in 3 days. I would like to write to you about it. I enjoyed reading it from Australia days to Oslo! Is it possible if you send me an email. I tried to look for your email to email you but I couldnt find one.

Leave a Reply

