A Productive Weekend (and Veggie Nachos)

I never liked vegetarian food. My Mom who is very religious is vegetarian three days a week (in Hinduism you can choose days to be vegetarian for a particular Deity) so she cooks a lot of vegetarian food at home. I remember coming back from school and asking her “Where’s the meat?” But, now that I live abroad and don’t eat beef (or reindeer, I’m a bit unsure how my body will react to red meat, the only red meat I’m comfortable eating is pork or lamb) I usually end up eating vegetarian options instead. I’ve gotten so used to eating vegetarian food that there are some dishes the bf and I feel you don’t even need meat as these dishes are already so tasty. (The bf’s mother is vegetarian so he’s really used to veggie food as well.)

Vegetarian Nachos is one of those dishes. It takes 20 minutes to make so it’s a good dish when you don’t feel like cooking and just want to bum around after a long day at work.

Here’s how it looks πŸ˜‰ (The photograph is suppose to motivate you to try it out)

Veggie Nachos

About two years ago, I saw a recipe onΒ KarenCheng‘s blog. I’ve been making it so many times (without looking at the recipe) so it’s not the same anymore. Hers is more structured, mine’s more of a “toss-everything-in-and-hope-it-tastes-good” kind.

Basically you need a bag of nacho chips. I usually get the low salt version as my tasted-buds are very sensitive to salt. Then you need to cook some sliced mushrooms (any mushrooms, I use champignon) with diced onions and a bit of garlic. Fry this mixture with a bit of olive oil.

While this is cooking, heat your oven to about 180 C. I usually take the oven tray out and start prepping it by laying out the chips on greaseproof paper.

In the frying pan, add in chopped tomatoes (I always cheat and used canned version (drain it beforehand), but sometimes I feel like being particular so I chop 2 or 3 medium sized tomatoes). Cook it for a few minutes and then add in the kidney beans (drain the tin first). Sometimes I use capsicum, sometimes I don’t – usually when I have mushrooms, I skip the capsicum.

Give the sauce a good stir for 1 minute and then switch off the heat. Place this mixture on top of your chips. Add some chopped avocado and then garnish with cheese. Bake for 10 minutes or until the cheese starts to brown.

As for the weekend, I’ve been trying to get as much as possible done. The past two weeks have been a little bit crazy as I had work (which is really picking up), Norwegian lessons, gym, and such – all at the same time. Now that Norwegian lessons are done (temporarily, until I sign up for the next level in January 2011 when I have more time and $$$ to invest) I can get my Tuesdays and Thursdays back πŸ™‚

I popped by MAC the other day to take a peek at the Venomous Villains collection. I didn’t think I’d like many items but I ended up getting a few things. It’s interesting to see the MAC stores in Oslo more busy than usual. I sometimes wonder if I’m lucky to live in a city much smaller than other capitals in Europe. I mean, if I was in London or Berlin or Paris – imagine what the MAC store would look like on the day of the launch of a new limited edition collection. I don’t even want to imagine that πŸ™‚ So despite always saying that the variety here is sometimes not enough…I’m actually really glad to live in a small, cute city. The crowd is not scary at all.

I dropped a line to my uncle in SF telling him I’ll be around. I didn’t think he’d want to meet up seeing as we’re not really close but strangely he does. Life is full of surprises. Yes, I’m one of those strange people with relatives all over the world. My friends find it funny when I tell them who lives where. That’s one of the quirks of coming from a big family – the kind you see in Indian movies. I have such a big extended family that somewhere along the line, a member of my mother’s aunt’s family actually married a member of my father’s sister-in-law’s family. It’s like a full circle. A former high school classmate of mine was also related to me – her mother was my grand uncle’s cousin. The bf gets really amused when I try to explain these connections to him.

I tried Pilates again last Wednesday – it was my second class. It’s getting a bit more difficult but strangely I don’t feel sore the next day. I also started Interval Spinning where you spin fast and slow and fast and slow repeatedly. Interval training is said to be the best way to burn fat and yours truly has a lot of fat to spare. So it’s a good thing πŸ™‚

I sent a package home yesterday – with some Summer clothing that i have not worn in awhile (and won’t get to wear in the next 6 months) along with some chocolate. I came across gold coin chocolates and remembered my cousin’s daughter who loves these chocolates so I threw some into the package for her. I’m a little bummed out that I won’t get to celebrate Diwali with my family this year (hence the SF trip, the bf is worried I’ll be moping at home during Diwali). I’ll also be missing my niece’s 2nd birthday. She’s a real cutie though πŸ™‚

I’m hoping this coming week will be a bit easier than the past two weeks. I’m also hoping to fit in three gym sessions again (like this week). The weather is getting cold and dark, makes waking up in the morning anything but easy. Just have to learn to sleep earlier than usual so it will be easier to wake up.

Have a good week ahead, guys πŸ™‚

6 responses

  1. Oh, makes me hungry! πŸ™‚ Sounds delicious, Fieran! I’m sure it’s very tasty. I never knew that about hinduism, very interesting – I don’t eat meat on Fridays, also for religious reasons. I make exceptions when people invite me to dinner and serve meat, as I find it more charitable – then I’ll move the day. Just a bit of trivia πŸ™‚

    • Ohh. I didn’t know Christian people didn’t eat meat on Fridays. I know some Buddhist people don’t eat beef. Interesting facts we pick up sometimes πŸ™‚ It’s sweet how you make exceptions when people serve it to you – the bf’s mother does the same. She’ll eat fish and such if you serve it to her, but generally she’s vegetarian.

      I’m so looking forward to coming to your city one of these days. Hopefully in January or February I can justify a trip πŸ™‚

  2. the mac villians collections is awesome, is it not? ❀ i picked up a blush, eyeshadow and the best gloss ever! i think its called revenge is sweet? ❀ its funny, most of the stuff i got was from the maleficent collection and omg, awesome stuff <
    booo, ur gonna be alone on diwali?!? i shall be celebrating it with you in spirit! <333

    • Yes, I usually go home for Diwali (did that 2008 and 2009) but I went home in Feb this year for my Dad’s birthday so it’s a bit expensive to fly to Malaysia again. Hence I figured I’ll stay in Oslo and save money πŸ˜‰ But, the bf is going to SF for work and he doesn’t want me to be alone and mope (he knows me a bit too well)…so I’m going to SF for a week during Diwali.

  3. You’re too rajin la :p I usually do it the easy way, buy a bag of chips, the dip (it’s by masterfoods), put some cheese on top and microwave it .Done in less than 5 minutes. Yea the lazy way out! But yours looks good! And bummer you can’t come back to M’sia for diwali. I’ll be going to Ipoh, eeks!

    • Tengok your in-laws ke? They’ll be very different now that they are grandparents. I notice that with my parents – they are sooo nice to my niece and it spills over to other situations as well – they are more patient and understanding with me. Ahh, homesick now πŸ™‚

      Nolah, not rajin. I kind of enjoy cooking and the “problem” with that is that once you’ve tasted the better stuff, it’s very hard to go back to eating the simple food. Like I cannot eat McD’s anymore. Lost the taste for it – and I swear the burgers in Malaysia taste better than the ones here. The chocolate sundae is half the size here, so cheating you know.

      Your anak so cute lah. When she starts talking, everybody in the house will use only her vocabulary πŸ˜‰ It will be very funny.

Leave a Reply

