I Confess – I’m a Foodie

People who know me personally will know that I usually scan the dessert menu first when I’m in a restaurant and then I choose my main course accordingly. Hey you have to reserve space for dessert otherwise you might face a situation where the main course has filled you up completely and then the waiter recommends a panna cotta filled with dragon fruit or tiramisu that you won’t be able to try. *Shudder* I hope that never happens to me. Denying myself dessert is really, really difficult for me as I am a foodie. I really enjoy good food (and dessert).

I dream of being able to create gourmet dishes in my humble kitchen and photograph them in an interesting manner. But I don’t think that’s going to happen anytime soon πŸ™‚ A girl can dream, though, can’t she?

Last weekend I made Sweet Potato and Fennel soup for one of the two dinners.

Sweet Potato and Fennel Soup

This is a very simple and quite a quick soup. This is the original recipe but I skip the parmesan wafers as I find them a bit too salty; I also skip the sour cream for garnishing as I’m a little bit lactose intolerant so I avoid cream when I can. This is a vegetarian dish and can be vegan if the milk is substituted with a non-dairy version.

For dinner during the weekend, I stumbled upon this box of couscous at the supermarket.

Alfez Moroccan Spice Couscous

So I picked it up and wondered what to do with it. An hour or two later, I made it and stuffed it into baked capsicum pieces. Unfortunately I did not manage to roast the capsicum well but the taste was really good. Yesterday I picked up another box of this couscous to make it with chickpeas and serve with baked salmon. I might make it tomorrow for dinner as it is really quick to make. The couscous only takes 5 minutes or so (you pour hot water on it, cover it and let it absorb the water) to be prepared. Great for a quick meal.

Capsicum Stuffed with Couscous

Now I saved the best for last πŸ™‚ My fellow Malaysian friend Whimiscaljottings made this dessert and ever since I saw photographs of them, I really wanted to make them. But I’ve been a bit of a health nut lately and couldn’t justify the claories so I had this ingenious idea of inviting some friends over on Sunday then I can share these buns/muffins out and feel less guilty about the calories.

Cinnamon Buns

It did work! Two friends showed up and the bf and I shared these buns with them along with a pot of freshly brewed green tea. It was a wonderful evening that ended with delicious Bengali food at an Indian restaurant near my apartment.

Cinnamon Buns

My next goal is to make these cupcakes.

 

#Update – Linked the recipe for the Cinnamon Buns to Whimsicaljotting’s page.

11 responses

  1. Ooo, cinnamon, me likey. Are yours in a mini muffin pan? If they are, I think they should be in the oven for a shorter period, else it would get dried out. I reckon you made them without the glaze? They’re also great without, but with the glaze on, they’re just decadent!

    I like couscous too. I usually make a huge batch, and keep it in the fridge, and it actually tastes better the next 1-2 days.

    • Actually it’s a normal muffin pan but maybe yours is the higher muffin pan that I’ve been drooling at? πŸ™‚ You’re right, I probably should have baked them for less longer – now I have an excuse to make them again!

      Yeah, couscous is yummy. It’s nice to have a quick option for dinner on the days when I have to rush off elsewhere after work.

    • Whoops, I forgot to link the recipe. Linked it now πŸ™‚ Do try it if you have the time. They are yummy and they keep well. I had the remainder the next day as well (stored in ziploc bags).

    • Is that a marriage proposal? Hahahaha you’re funny hun. You really should try some of these recipes – they take almost no time, trust me. I’m not a good cook at all, I don’t even follow measurements, I follow taste πŸ˜‰

  2. Oh Fieran,it all just looks so delicious! The cinnamon buns look really nice, never seen that kind before. Are they like muffins or are they made with yeast?

    • They’re like muffins (coz you use the pan) but yes there’s yeast in them. About 3/4 of that yeast sachet you can buy from Idun for sweet pastries. You should make them, I’ve just linked the recipe.

Leave a Reply

