Review: Clinique Take The Day Off Makeup Remover For Lids, Lashes & Lips

Clinique Take The Day Off Makeup Remover for Lids, Lashes & Lips

I’m a big fan of Clinique – a lot of my skin care items are from this brand. It’s a wee bit expensive so I get a lot of my items at duty free instead of normal stores. Sometimes the cosmetic store here has a promotion for the 400ml Liquid Facial Soap where it is priced at NOK195 compared to the 200ml bottle that is priced at NOK165 I think. That’s when I stock up.

Makeup is fun but just like cooking – you have to clean up. Removing eye makeup can be a bit of a task if you have on liquid eyeliner, eyebrow pencil, eyeshadow primer, etc. I don’t want to take the risk of going to sleep with residual eye makeup on as it can result in infection.

Take The Day Off Makeup Remover for Lids, Lashes & Lips is a really good eye makeup remover as it removes eye makeup without requiring any rubbing. I live in cold, dry climate and the last thing I want to do is rub my eye to remove makeup.

It’s a double-phase formula where there’s a water-like layer and an oil-like layer. You have to shake it well before using. I usually pour a few drops of this remover on a soft cotton pad and hold it gently against my eye for a few seconds. Makeup comes off immediately. I usually use two cotton pads for each eye – I’m paranoid like that – and then I use a cotton bud for each eye, dipping it into the liquid and tracing it gently along my waterline and lashes. Finally I splash some cold water on my eyes to remove any residue (it can be a bit oily sometimes). This ensures that there is no more makeup on my eye when I go to sleep.

Clinique claims:

Totally tugless, two-way makeup remover speeds the departure of hard-to-remove eye and lip makeups. Dissolves and “lifts away” long-wearing makeup, even waterproof mascara. Non-irritating, non-stinging. Ophthalmologist Tested. Appropriate for contact lens wearers.

Is it true? Definitely. In case you haven’t noticed, the reason why I have two bottles is because I got one recently when I ran out but the bf thought I was still short so he picked up an extra bottle on one of his travels. Doesn’t hurt to have a backup though 🙂

Clinique also has the Rinse-Off Eye Makeup Solvent. According to an MUA that I spoke to recently, the difference between Take The Day Off and the Solvent is the Solvent does not remove waterproof makeup. i don’t know how true it is as I haven’t tried the Solvent version yet. Maybe I will one of these days, but then again, the current version works well so I don’t want to mess with it 🙂

This product was purchased by me and my review is purely my opinion based on more than a year of usage.
14 responses

  1. I used to use Clinique products a long time ago. It’s been years since I’ve splurged on a decent skincare brad. I’m using Simple makeup remover (used to use Pond’s Cold cream until they discontinued it here!!) and it seems to work for me.

    • Ahhh Simple. I haven’t used that in awhile. I think they have it here. They discontinued Pond’s Cold Cream? Wow. Apparently Kylie Minogue swears by it and when she mentioned it once in an interview, it became very popular again.

      I like Clinique, but their Exfoliating Lotion (the toner) is quite strong so I only use it once a day.

  2. I use the same one! Cool.

    I’m amazed at how thorough you are! I use the same product you do, but only dip both ends of a q-tip into the bottle, and rub it gently along my lashlines, then proceed with a makeup remover wipe to remove foundation etc (usually from Simple, but now from MAC), then wash my face with Dermalogica ultracalming cleanser.

    You’re cool, Fieran! 🙂

    • Hehe, more paranoid than cool. My sister once had stye on her eye – since then I’m very careful with removing eye makeup. My face absorbs a lot of makeup that I have to clean it very, very thoroughly.

    • Ah my elder sister used to use baby lotion – for the thick makeup she had to wear for Indian Classical Dancing. They don’t exactly have Johnson’s baby lotion here, I haven’t seen it yet. If I do I’ll definitely pick some up for emergency 🙂

  3. I love this a lot too. Its a nice substitute for Lancome’s make-up remover. I love that one a lot too, but have decided to boycott Lancome because they test on animals.

    • Ooh I haven’t tried their makeup remover. I didn’t know they tested on animals – darn I was going to get colour matched for their foundation but now that you mention it I will find another brand or just stick to MAC. Thanks 🙂

  4. Now that I’m a boring SAHW, I hardly ever use makeup as in the whole works, primer, foundation, mascara etc. But when I do, I use Simple eye makeup remover, and Boots cleansing lotion followed by The Body Shop organic facial wash. I’m starting to skimp on facial wash etc, and the only luxury I have is Estee Lauder’s Advanced Night Repair serum. I swear it works coz my skin always looks better the next day (as compared to lazy/forgetful days when I don’t apply).

    Btw, hows the Clarisonic working for you? Do I see a review coming up? 😉

    • Hehehe, SAHWs maybe be boring but you definitely are not 🙂

      Ah I have seen the Simple Eye Makeup Remover Pads..they sell them here. I’m just very used to buying a lot of skincare at duty free than at the drugstores here. Body Shop’s stuff is actually pretty good. I used to swear by the Tea Tree range but the problem with my skin is that everything works for awhile, then my skin gets used to the product and starts misbehaving. Then it’s time for me to change something to restart it again. I’m not sure if this makes any sense but I can’t seem to use the same range for too long – Clinique being one of the exceptions.

      I had a similar challenge with Lush as well – their Angels on Bare Skin worked quite well for me – like a good 4 months or so, my skin was calmer – then I felt like it was too exfoliating and parts of my face would get a bit red and annoyed. So I had to stop it.

      Regarding the Clarisonic – I’d love to do a review, but I’m afraid I will jinx it 🙂 I’m very quiet about it because it’s working quite well now and I’m scared my skin will get used to it and then start misbehaving again.

      The Clarisonic cleans my face better so I have less oil. In a way my T-zone is much clearer, less blackheads and even if I do get pimples they kind of heal much faster. My cheeks are a bit more dry – but I think this is due to my oily skin becoming more “Combination” now that I live in colder climate. The Clarisonic is great for all that flaky skin provided that I use a good moisturizer afterward. I notice the milia underneath my eye area slowly fading away. They are not so prominent anymore. The other positive result is that my laugh lines are less pronounced.

      I really want to try the Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair serum but I have to find the right time to splurge on it. Hehehe, one of these days I will. I want the eye version at least because I have wrinkles under my eyes and some minor crows feet. Age is catching up, unfortunately.

  5. hey i got this free yest with my face wash purchase .. its a good size bottle … will see how it works for me , i use lancome which is very expensive 😦
    but good i got to see ur post on this 🙂

    • Ah I have seen the Lancome Bi-Facil but never bought it before because the Clinique works very well. In fact the Clinique works better on my eyelids than MAC’s Cleansing Oil – but I use everything, just at different days, depending on how much eye makeup I have on. Will try Lancome next time I see it at duty free.

  6. Pingback: 2010 in Review – Thank You For Reading My Blog « Across the Oceans

  7. hey thanks for the lovely comment. great blog u have here. even i hold the same views about this makeup remover. does its job amazingly well :). and for the lancome query u had i am using lancome teint idole silky matt foundation especially meant for combination to oily skin and as of now, i love this. will be reviewing it soon.they have another one too called teint miracle…thats meant for normal and dry skin(just wanted to mention that if u r interested in tat particular product as i am not using that one ‘coz its easy to confuse b/w the two)

Leave a Reply

