Sugar is Not Always Good…For Your Skin

This is not a health lecture or anything. It’s just that I have been experimenting with various ingredients in my food and trying to see if I can fix my skin myself. One ingredient that seems to make a bit of a difference is sugar. On the days where I have dessert and such – the next few days, my skin doesn’t look too good.

But if I drink plenty of water and eat less sugar, the next few days my skin will look better.

I don’t know if there’s any scientific link to this but I am glad to have found some proof ofย  “you are what you eat” because it is true to a certain extent.

I’m terrified of getting diabetes because my grandmother had it for more than 30 years and although I don’t think it affected her quality of life when she was younger – it certainly did when she was older. I sometimes think if it weren’t for her diabetes, she might still be around. The past two years I’ve been hitting the gym and trying to eat better and such – with hope that I can avoid diabetes. Hopefully I will succeed.

Here’s a nice article on overcoming sugar addiction.

8 responses

  1. I used to put 2 sugar into my morning coffee everyday. I’ve tried to cut down to 1 1/2 now. I’ve a sweet tooth but I’m trying to avoid any lollies or chocolates because when I start, I can’t stop.

    • You could try to substitute the sugar with honey. That’s what I did to slowly remove sugar from my Chai Lattes. Eventually I didn’t need the honey anymore.

      I always try to avoid lollies myself – I never buy any at home so I don’t feel like eating them. Chocolate is tough to resist though ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Ack, resisting sugar is so hard but so worth it. After a while our sweet tolerance changes and the foods we previously enjoyed are suddenly too sweet: I can’t stand jam now. Still working on chocolate ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      • No problem. Just a small thing I have noticed in my lifelong battle for better skin. When I eat too much sugar, my mother always tells me to drink heaps of water to counteract the sugar. She claims the water can flush out the excess sugar quickly. I know some people drink plain green tea for this reason as well.

        It’s difficult to resist dessert/ice-cream/coffee etc… I totally understand. My weakness is for dark chocolate, pecan pie, pancakes and cheesecake ๐Ÿ˜‰ I can resist ice-cream because I’m a bit lactose intolerant so I convince myself that if I eat ice-cream my tummy will hurt. The fear helps..hehe.

    • Very true! I feel a certain satisfaction when I no longer like something I used to like. I used to drink a lot of Coca Cola as a kid but when I was a teenager I kind of tried to drink less of it. These days I don’t drink any fizzy drinks at all – save for the occasional cup of Coca Cola if I feel like it: where I sip a few sips and throw away the rest.

Leave a Reply

