Observation: Thinking of Joining Twitter?

I’ve been blogging for about 10 years now – but anonymously on Blogspot/Xanga and now WordPress. I joined Twitter earlier this year for the fun of it and to be able to respond to other people’s Tweets. Blogging isn’t the same as Twitter because Twitter is like posting a blog post every few minutes. It’s quite busy and you can come across a lot of noise.

Here are some of my observations:

  • Just because somebody has a great blog does not mean their Tweets will be equally interesting – now this is something I’ve observed often. People think more about what they want to say when blogging, than when Tweeting. So you will come across some very negative Tweets about their disagreements with their partners, their problems at work, their dislikes for a certain person, etc.
  • Twitter is a venting outlet – a lot of people think they will feel better when they vent their feelings on Twitter – but I don’t really think that works, at least not for me. I think it’s just like Facebook status. Your friends/followers will start to ask you why, what, where, how and such. Maybe that is what we really want? To have others be concerned about us. Consequently it’s difficult to find positive/optimistic Tweeters who are going to cheer you up or make you feel inspired for the day.
  • Twitter is great for keeping in touch – I use it to keep in touch with friends who are far away and former colleagues. I also use it to organize quick movie nights/dinners, etc. It can be a lot of fun because chances are you will get responses quicker than e-mail.
  • Twitter makes celebrities look less than perfect – which kind of reduces the mystery around them, but they’ll also be promoting their movies and such on Twitter, so be warned 🙂 The other sad part about celebrities on Twitter will be the Tweets people send them: “Today is my birthday, please wish me.” or “Today is my exam, please wish me.”
  • A common phrase on Twitter is “FML” which kind of means F my life. Some people believe that saying that is a way of saying that their life sucks. I’m a strong believer of positive affirmations – that if we think positively and say positive things: only good things will happen.
  • Trending topics are a fun way to learn what’s going on around the world. The budget of a country, some funny YouTube video, a new movie being released, etc. These will all be trend topics.

Take Twitter with a teaspoon of salt because I do know some of my friends on Twitter personally and I honestly think they are a lot more fun than what they write on Twitter. But if you notice somebody on your following list constantly whinging about stuff – unfollow. Misery loves company so you might want to keep some distance 🙂

2 responses

Leave a Reply

