Chinese Style Rice Porridge

Porridge is not just for babies – or sickies like me 😉 When Whimsicaljottings suggested I have porridge, I started craving for Chinese porridge – the kind that you get in Malaysia (not the McDonald’s one OK 🙂 — yes you get Chinese porridge in McDonald’s in Malaysia) with the crispy fried yeow char kuay..sigh.

Nevertheless, I thought I’ll try my luck since she (Whimsicaljottings) kindly gave me the recipe in the comments below. I also did a quick search for a full recipe to get a few hints on when to throw in the minced meat and such.

Suffice to say, the porridge was awesome. Even the German BF (who is not a big fan of porridge – took me awhile to convince him to eat Oatmeal) had two bowls of these.

I guess it’s difficult to resist the porridge if it looks like this:

Chinese Style Porridge with Minced Pork

Chinese Style Porridge with Minced Pork

So what went into the porridge?

  • 3/4 cup of rice
  • 4 cups of water
  • 5 tablespoons of minced pork
  • 1 inch piece of ginger, sliced
  • 1 teaspoon five spice powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 3 teaspoons of sesame oil (because I love the fragrance)
  • a handful of chopped scallions
  • a handful of fried shallots (it’s a weakness of mine)

If you’d like to make this dish, I’d advice you not to attempt to make it on an empty stomach. If you make it slowly and give it a nice hour to simmer (excluding the time it takes for everything to cook) the taste will be excellent.

Give it a try – you just might like it enough to not mind being sick 🙂

4 responses

  1. Yay sharon for the recipe and yay you for making it! Looks delicious! I will probably need to start making porridge now as practice for my baby when it’s time for her to go on solids.

    • I couldn’t not make it after she posted the recipe in the comments 🙂 It was delicious. Reminded me of the Maggi instant porridge I used to eat when I wore braces for three painful years. I’m thinking of going for a tough gym workout this weekend and then consoling myself with porridge afterward.

Leave a Reply

