Cold Soba Noodles

I’ll admit that I find it very difficult to eat healthy when I’m stressed or nervous about something. Sometimes I end up reaching for the worst food: chocolate, pre-made Belgian waffles (totally sinful), ice-cream, Pringles, etc. The problem is coming back from work or the city then attempting to cook something quick (and healthy) before getting really hungry and reaching for the least-healthy option.

The solution? Cold soba noodles. This is a dish otherwise known as Zaru soba because it is normally served on a kind of basket with the dipping sauce and some other condiments like sliced green onions. The recipe I am using is technically from here but I made a different type of dipping sauce (which is definitely not authentic) as I did not feel like making Kaeshi separately.

Just to motivate you to try this recipe out, here’s a photograph ๐Ÿ˜‰

Cold Soba Noodles

Basically, you cook soba noodles as mentioned on the packet. Then you wash the noodles in cold water, lightly cleaning out the starch with your fingers. Strain and portion on plates accordingly.

Here’s how I made my sauce:

  • 2 tablespoons of plum vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons of thick Teriyaki sauce (you could use sweet soya sauce, but I didn’t have any)
  • 1 tablespoon of lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon of mirin
  • 2 tablespoons of light soya sauce (like sushi soya sauce or shoyu sauce)
  • a pinch of chili flakes

Mix the sauce evenly in a small bowl. I was naughty and tossed everything together: noodles, sauce, sliced green onions, sesame seeds and a bit of shredded seaweed.

This dish takes less than 30 minutes to make and is actually quite wholesome. If you’d like to have a little bit more ingredients with your dish, feel free to add sliced smoked salmon or pre-fried tofu.

2 responses

    • Ohhh it was a tough call. I’ve resolved not to buy chips these days and 6 out of 7 days a week, I can resist. Actually I go through strong periods and week periods – sometimes I can forget that chocolates exist; other times they are all I think about ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s a similar relationship with Pringles.

Leave a Reply

