How Do You React?

I’m curious. I have a lot of female readers (I’m assuming ;)) and would love to know how you react to bad situations?

1. If somebody makes a gender biased comment/joke?

2. If somebody insults something you stand for?

3. If somebody makes fun of your religion?

4. If somebody dismisses you and your task in a project?

 

I’d really like to know. I notice I get angry – my anger is like a delayed reaction as it shows up much later after I have had time to process incidents. It’s a good thing, in a way, because I rarely burst into anger and then regret later. But at the same time I’m trying to be a calmer, more thick-skinned person who can rise above all these pettiness and move on.
Do you have any tips? šŸ™‚ I’m all ears.

6 responses

  1. I am like you too. My anger comes later but then it’s too late coz I probably would have fumbled or not say anything to tell them off which makes me even more pissed that I chose to keep quiet about it. I do wish I could be like my dad tho where he can jokingly tell them off while getting the message across. I need a thicker skin!!

    • Hmm, yeah, that kind of ‘tact’ that your father has is very, very useful in diffusing situations but also to state your point without offending people.

      I’m not good at proving a point without getting angry šŸ™‚

  2. I react the exact same way you do! I become angry, and completely absorbed in how much they annoy me – to the point that I realize I’m giving them all my energy, and to be able to WIN! I have to focus on the task at hand.

    If they poke fun at my religion I try to remind myself that their ridicule comes from ignorance. So I try to educate them, but remind myself not to educate them because I want to be right, but because it’s the right thing to do.

    If they persist to poke fun after they’ve been educated, I try to tell them they’re proving my faith by harrassing me about it. That usually shuts everyone up šŸ™‚

    I think your delayed anger is a plus, because it can help you address the problem adequately. That way you can say “remember that time you said…? I’d like you to know that…”

    Let me know any time you need to vent, friend šŸ™‚

    • I’m alright, friend šŸ™‚

      It’s just that I keep coming across a lot of these strange situations lately where people say harsh or weird things to me and I’m trying to rise above them, without reacting in a negative manner so they won’t win.

      I’m just curious if it’s just me or if other women have similar issues and wanted to know how you guys react šŸ™‚ Thanks for the insight. Delayed anger is kind of useful, but at the same time, if you go back to somebody and say “you know when you said ..” it could seem like they are important enough to you that you actually contemplated what they said. I don’t want to give them that satisfaction šŸ™‚

  3. 1. I think I’ll roll my eyes and give them a dirty look.
    2. I would defend my stand on whatever it is.
    3. I would let them know it is not ok.
    4. I would defend myself again.

Leave a Reply

