Review: Guerlain Aqua Allegoria Bouquet Numero 2

I’ve never reviewed a perfume before because I always think that fragrance is quite a personal thing, not to mention perfumes smell differently on different people. However, when I saw this bottle at duty free recently, I had to buy it because:

  1. It smelled like a rose garden
  2. It’s Guerlain – I have always wanted to try something from Guerlain but usually when I read reviews on their eyeshadow, the word “sheer” always pops up and that’s a bit of a turn off for me

A review is due because I think this is something different as it’s a Travel Retail Exclusive perfume. I usually roam around duty free checking out perfumes but this is one I have not seen before. Maybe I’m a bit outdated but the only Guerlain perfume that I usually hear about is “Insolence” though I’ve never really felt drawn to the bottle enough to want to spritz the tester.

Let’s look at the packaging first:

Guerlain Aqua Allegoria Bouquet Numero 2 - Packaging

Guerlain Aqua Allegoria Bouquet Numero 2 - Bottle

Guerlain Aqua Allegoria Bouquet Numero 2

Isn’t the bottle beautiful?

Now Guerlain claims the following:

Aqua Allegoria

A collection of odes to nature

created by Guerlain.

 

In a tropical gaden

Listen to the murmur of a stream

Bathe in it surrounded by rose petals.

 

Bouquet Numero 2

The spirit of rose

and a note of lychee.

Is it just me or does that read like a Haiku? 🙂

Let me try to describe this Eau de Toilette.

It’s very rose-ish but not in a grandmotherly kind of way. It’s a very pleasant scent. I don’t exactly smell the lychee notes in it. To me it’s more citrus mixed with rose. The reason I’m saying this is because a pure rose scent is Paul Smith’s Rose. Guerlain’s Aqua Allegoria Bouquet Numero 2 is more citrus mixed with rose, to me at least. After a few minutes of spraying this perfume on, the sweetness of the fragrance kind of fades away to reveal a mellow flowery scent with a light hint of citrus.

Nevertheless, if you’re looking for a perfume that not only smells good but also looks great on your vanity – then this is a good option. Personally I like fragrances that are sweet but subtle. I cannot see myself wearing a strong fragrance on a day to day basis as I would not want to make somebody with a sensitive nose uncomfortable.

Here’s a review of Guerlain’s Aqua Allegoria Bouquet Numero 1 that I came across today while looking for info on Numero 2. Looks like the Numero 2 version is pretty new. Hopefully there’ll be some reviews on this product in future. I’m not a Perfume Expert so please take my review with a teaspoon of salt 😉

5 responses

  1. You got me at rose! I have Paul Smith’s rose and it’s a gorgeoussss scent. So I”m definitely going to go try sniff this one out. Also if you happen to see Thomas Sabo perfume, check it out, it’s pretty fresh and awesome!

    • Ah, another Thomas Sabo fan 🙂 My family loves their charm bracelets. I even got one as a gift from my elder sister.

      I haven’t smelled the perfume yet. Will do when I see it one of these days 🙂 Thanks for the tip.

      P/s – I did get Paul Smith’s Rose because you were raving about it. I don’t regret it at all. It kind of helped that it was on sale at Amsterdam duty free 🙂

    • Hehehe, I agree though. Perfume smells different on different people. Perhaps I can make a trip to your city again this year so you can smell the perfume. It would be nice to have the sun shine on me rather than be hailed and snowed upon. Hehehe.

  2. Pingback: Review: Jo Malone Vanilla & Anise, Pomegranate Noir « Across the Oceans

Leave a Reply

