Aubergines, Couscous, and More

There’s something nice about men who cook. If you’ve been reading my blog for awhile, you’ll know that’s my weakness: men who cook. Because if the bf is cooking, I can sit on the couch and daydream, read makeup blogs and chat on Facebook/Twitter, no? After a long day at work, sometimes that’s the best way to wind down.

They say when you spend a lot of time with somebody, their habits rub off on you. I think this does not only apply to boyfriends and girlfriends, but friends too. For me, the bf’s love for vegetarian food has definitely rubbed off on me. I used to be a meat lover who felt vegetarian food was bland and tasteless. Nowadays, I’m more than happy to cook and eat something vegetarian just for fun.

Spicy Baby Aubergine Stew with Coriander and Mint

It was the bf who cooked this dish because he was really curious what an aubergine stew would taste like. This recipe is from the GoodFood (UK, May 2011 edition) magazine. I hope it’s alright that I am posting it here.

Basically, what you need is:

  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 2 red onions, chopped
  • 4 garlic cloves, chopped (I used garlic paste)
  • 2 red chillies, sliced
  • 2 teaspoon coriander seeds, toasted and crushed (I used them as is)
  • 2 teaspoon cumin seeds, toasted and crushed (I used them as is)
  • 16 baby aubergines, left whole with stalk intact (I can’t find baby aubergines here, at least not the purple ones so I used 2 large aubergines and cut each into about 12 pieces)
  • 2x400g cans chopped tomatoes
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1 bunch of mint leaves (I used bottle mint chutney)

The method is something like this:

  1. Heat oil in a big pan and add fry onions and garlic until the colour changes. Add in the chillies, coriander and cumin seeds. When the seeds give off a nutty aroma, toss in the whole aubergines, coating them in the onion and spices. (I waited for the seeds to pop, since I didn’t crush them.)
  2. Tip in tomatoes and sugar, cover and gently cook for 40 mins, until aubergines are tender.
  3. Season the sauce and toss in half the mint and coriander. (I didn’t use fresh coriander, just used mint instead.) Cover and simmer for 2 minutes. Sprinkle over remaining herbs and serve with couscous and yoghurt.

I did serve mine with Couscous. Actually I made the Couscous based on the steps written on the package (it was wholewheat and delicious) and cut some of the ingredients while the bf focused on cooking the stew. If you’re looking for a simple recipe, to cook something different, this would be eat. The dish was wonderful. The trick I used for the Couscous is to season it with raisins, pepper, paprika, salt, and a knob of butter.

The best part of this dish? You only have to wash one pan. Well I have a dishwasher thanks to my landlord, but still 🙂

I pick up the GoodFood magazine once every few months because they have wonderful recipes that kind of push the boundaries of ingredient combinations that I absolutely love.

Here’s another photograph to motivate you to head out there and pick up some aubergine.

Spicy Baby Aubergine Stew with Coriander and Mint

Of course I had to save the best for last. The bf showed up with this from his recent trip gallivanting, err working I mean, in the US.

The Haul

I’ve been trying to be more and more selective, limiting my makeup purchases as I already have quite a few items in my collection that I am very happy with. I’m working towards reducing my shopping and saving more. Gotta be a responsible adult 🙂

13 responses

  1. You do have an awesome boyfriend, there’s no doubt about that! 🙂 Please don’t leave me behind being the only irresponsible adult left on the planet when it comes to insane makeup splurging. Please?

  2. am craving for couscous! love goodfood mag too, so expensive here so bf and i normally just rummage through the discounted bin at the magazine shop for them hehe

    • Yes, I agree. These foreign magazines are so expensive. In Norway they are more than 30 times the price in GBP. If a magazine is 3 GBP or so, here it is around 100 NOK. It’s painful because although 100 NOK is not that much money, it really adds up if I get 2-3 magazines a month (can pay for my phone bill). I usually browse a bit and try to get 1 Good Food every 2 months or so. I wish they sold the older editions here at discounted prices… they usually return them to the supplier 😦

  3. Girl, that recipe is awesome. Thanks for posting! 😀 Had this for lunch today, it was delicious.

    And look at you lucky little girl with your pretty huge haul! 😀 Nice, hope you’re enjoying all your new goodies! 🙂

    • I’m really glad you liked the dish 🙂 I posted it with you in mind because it’s a very wholesome, healthy meal.

      Hehehe. I love the Murano quad. The Lancome Erika F eyeshadow which is supposedly a cult favourite is so… shimmery? I need to try it with another base maybe. JWMyFunnyValentine made it look so good on her blog.

Leave a Reply

