A Little Bit of This and That

I’ve been dabbling in a little bit of this and that. Mostly work as there is just so much to read. I sometimes wish I was a Shape Shifter from Fringe – now those guys are cool because they have hard disks which they use to load information into themselves. The mechanism is a bit gory so I won’t go into details there. But, imagine not needing to read anything anymore – just load the information. Totally nifty 🙂

I’ve been trying out a few of the items from last week’s “haul”. I’m in love with those things as it’s so difficult to get most of them here, let alone at a reasonable price. I normally don’t like to write negative stuff on my blog because the last thing I want is to have somebody read it and feel unhappy. Nevertheless I must admit that the range and variety available in this city leaves a lot to be desired. But, it has been improving. Three years ago, there were so many ingredients I could not find at the grocery stores. These days, it is actually possible to find milk powder, Sodium Bicarbonate, Japanese Plum Vinegar, Hoisin sauce, Frozen Char Siu Paus, etc..so I have hope that the variety will improve in other departments as well.

We can’t always have everything we want, can we 🙂

So this is the bag I bought online and sent it to a friend, then the bf picked it up when he was traveling. It’s a Kate Spade Cheltenham Hobo. I love non-black bags but I usually end up buying black bags all the time. This coffee brown, leather bag is so nice. The leather is very soft yet scratch-proof. I got a 60% discount on the bag so I think it was a steal. It’s a great work bag as it can fit a lot of my junk 🙂 It’s also cross body so I always have my hands free.

Kate Spade Cheltenham Hobo

Speaking of browns, I recently experimented with a brown eyeshadow look. You know that look a lot of models on magazines wear? It’s a classic dark brown look that goes with any blush and any lipstick, but it makes your eyes look more defined?

I don’t really know if it is a brown smokey eye. My knowledge on makeup is limited and I definitely do not resemble a model 🙂

But here is my attempt. It’s a contrast enhanced photo to show the combination I was trying to achieve.

Brown Eyeshadow Look

Here’s a list of products I used:

  • Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion (Original)
  • MAC Below Ground Greasepaint Stick (as a base colour)
  • MAC Chocolate Brown Pigment (inner lid)
  • MAC Deep Purple Pigment (outer lid)
  • Urban Decay 24/7 Shadow Pencil in Wasteland (crease)
  • MAC Patina Eyeshadow (inner corner of the eye)
  • MAC Smolder Kohl Pencil (upper lashline and outer part of lower lashline)
  • MAC Orpheus Kohl Power Pencil (lower lashline)
  • Becca Damselfly Mineral Blush

The following are the steps I used:

  • Apply the eyeshadow primer onto clean, moisturized eyes.
  • Pat the base (the Greasepaint stick, in this case) onto the eyelids and blend with a fluffy brush like MAC 217. The 217 is a wonderful brush that evenly spreads eyeshadow and creamy bases.
  • Using a flat brush like MAC 239, pat on the Chocolate Brown pigment on the inner half of the lid. I applied mine a little bit more towards the outer corner to create a bit of a gradient.
  • Using a flat brush, again, pat the Deep Purple pigment on the outer half of the lid.
  • Draw a thick line in the crease with the Wasteland Shadow Pencil. Immediately blend it with the 217 brush as this pencil sets very fast. I’d recommend doing one eye at a time.
  • Using a pencil brush like MAC 219, pat on Patina on the inner corners of your eyes. Blend with the same brush.
  • Finish with the eyeliners and mascara and you are good to go.
  • I usually clean up the edges with a cotton bud and blend around the eyeshadow corners with MAC Studio Careblend Pressed Powder or Mineralize Skin Finish Natural to soften the look.
6 responses

  1. Gorgeous look!
    I love how it gives definition to your eye, sparkles an appropriate amount in the sunlight, plus can be worn pretty much anywhere. I say keep sticking to that recipe! 😀

    And the bag is very pretty too! I love how it gives you the option of carrying it in the hand or across body. Looks like a lot of pretty things can be carried in it 🙂 It’s not a brand I’ve given much regard – should I?

    And plum vinegar sounds absolutely delicious. I did a very strange lunch this week with Hoisin sauce: I took a lompe (potato cake), put half a can of tuna on it, drizzled with Hoisin sauce, roasted sunflower seeds and linseeds, plus cucumber and spring onions – it was so delicious! It probably sounds strange, but I closed my eyes and pretended I was eating duck and it worked 😀

    • Aww thank you Pinchy 🙂 I’m still playing around. Some days my eye make up looks alright. Other days it’s overblended. But I’m getting there 🙂 Slowly but surely. It’s becoming a lot more fun too, to mix and match colours, etc.

  2. I have to agree with Pinchy, it such a gorgeous look! And I love your new bag, suits you perfectly I can imagine. 🙂 So sophisticated. 🙂

    • Thank you. The bag is quite comfortable. I really like it 🙂 Fits all my junk. As for the makeup, it was a spur of the moment, just use the pigments kind of mode.

  3. One word – gorgeous – bag and your brown makeup. I LOVE Kate Spade, been wanting to get this bag I saw on Ebay but it’s too expensive after conversion. But your bag is just pure classic – you can carry it 10 years from now and it will still be classy and sytlish! Something I would pick myself IF i had some extra green notes to spare.

    • Trust me, it was really, really reasonably priced. I couldn’t believe the price myself. I love classic bags because I’m not really fashionable. Trendy stuff never look good on me. My style is quite fuss free and structured, hence the sraight, structured bag. If you know of anybody coming from the US, then you can buy it online and ship it to them. Katespade.com has some really good deals from time to time.

Leave a Reply

