Things I Wish I Knew… Back Then

I’m not really old, I think… but sometimes I wish I knew better. There are some things I wish I had known as a teenager or young adult, before college, before university. I don’t regret my decisions or actions, but I would probably do things differently, given another chance.

  1. There’s no such thing as black and white – There’s only gray. People are not exactly good or bad, they are just people. The sooner you accept this fact, the easier life will be. Trying to sort people in your mind is not the best thing to do. Honestly, this is the main reason I couldn’t read the Game Of Thrones book (from George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series). I couldn’t deal with the characters not being completely good or completely bad.
  2. It’s okay to be late sometimes – I was always a stickler for punctuality. I just hated the idea of being late. These days I have learned to relax so much so that some days I don’t even wear a watch. It’s okay to be late, it really is. Fashionably late is not a bad thing 🙂
  3. Forgive and please forget – Man, having a good memory is a bit of a curse. You can forgive stuff, but it’s just hard to forget. I wish I had forgotten more events and more bad stuff, because these days it feels like a waste of mind space. Memory is expensive. I’ve also learned that the more you forgive and of course forget, the lighter you feel. Less emotional baggage.
  4. Break the rules – I always followed the rules, never broke any. I think I would have been a more fun person had I known how to break rules and challenge authority. No, I don’t mean do anything naughty, but just not always colour within the lines, you know? Life could have been more fun 🙂
  5. Exercise – I was way too lazy as a teenager. The only two strenuous things I did were – studying and playing the organ. I should have gone on runs, roller-bladed more, biked more, and walked more. Well, now I have a tummy as a souvenir for my lazy days back then.
  6. Speak slower – I have this tendency to speak really fast and over the years I have learned to speak slower, but there is still room for improvement. Speaking slower really helps people understand you. Slow down.
  7. Relax – I’m lousy at relaxing or just resting. I’m always picking up the computer, the phone, or the iPad to browse, read, watch YouTube videos, etc. I should learn to sit still and just be. I wish I had learned this back then. It’s very Zen to be able to chill out and not do anything. I shall work on this.
  8. Make more friends – I do have some old friends from high school, college, and university days but I wish I had made more friends. It’s always nice to have a lot of people to talk to. The more people I meet here, the more I realize that having a lot of friends makes you a richer person – from an experience and a happiness perspective.
  9. Take care of your skin – Despite being a bit of a skin care crazy person these days, back then, I was really bad at it. I’d walk around with really dry skin and not really care about it. I should have taken better care of my skin, maybe it would be easier to do so now had I instilled that habit when I was younger.

What are the things you wish you knew back then?

6 responses

    • Thank you 🙂 It’s kind of hard, I think, to reflect on stuff and to try to be better because when push comes to shove, we always react based on what we are used to doing rather than what we should/could do.

  1. I agree with all your points, especially number one. I remember when I was younger, I used to write people off easily. Now I am more understanding and I realize no one can be completely bad…except there are some people like that who are really bad. lol

    • Hehehe I have like zero patience for some people, or used to have, but these days I’m learning a bit of patience. Still takes time but I no longer get really angry or lose my cool. I notice there’s a lot of respect in many communities, especially at work, when you are that one person who does not lose your cool. So, I’m striving to be that person.

  2. You’ve some excellent points, dear. I especially agree with your point on forgiveness – it’s amazing how rewarding it can be to forgive someone, or infact, yourself 🙂 hope we’ll continue to learn these things! 🙂

Leave a Reply

