Trying My Hand at Sashimi

If raw fish is not your style, do not scroll down.

In Norsk (the Norwegian language), laks means salmon. Salma Laks is a brand of salmon that is deboned and packed at most 4 hours after it was fished. It is extremely fresh such that there is no fish smell on it. At all. In fact, it is pretty much odourless and tastes really, really good.

OK, I will admit that until moving to Norway, I almost never ate sushi with raw salmon/tuna or sashimi. The idea was too disturbing. But when you are in Rome, you have to do as the Romans right? So I started eating the raw ones slowly. Nowadays, I’m a bit of a pro, if I may say so myself πŸ™‚

Two weeks ago, the bf and I were craving Japanese food but we were so tired of going to the same take out around the area so we thought we’ll make our own sashimi. He cut the salmon and the scallions while I cooked the rice πŸ™‚

Sashimi with Ponzu Sauce

This dish takes like 15 minutes to prepare.

  1. Buy the salmon fillet and slice it
  2. Cook rice
  3. Prepare Ponzu sauce
  4. Add garnishing (like scallions)
  5. Eat

That’s it. Who needs Omega-3 supplements when you can get it straight from salmon?

4 responses

    • Hehehe, you should make it. It was so yummy. The combination of that citrusy-soy sauce with the salmon and rice was so good. You could also add some avocado slices on the side πŸ™‚

    • I have faith in your juggling skills..things will get easier. Don’t get too stressed and take care of yourself πŸ™‚

      I just followed the dish that I sometimes order at restsurtants. It’s quite easy.

Leave a Reply

