No, I Haven’t Forgotten This Blog

..I’ve just been, for lack of a better word, swamped.

It’s been so busy here. I just got back from a week in Seattle, Washington. I was there for work but managed to squeeze in a bit of shopping and some walking around. The best part about the US is the variety; the worst part is the distance. Sometimes it really sucks that the US is so far away…from Malaysia or even Norway. The travel time is tough, not to mention the time difference. I really wanted to call my niece and wish her on her 3rd birthday, but by the time I woke up, it was already her party and I’ve learned from previous experience that most kids are really distracted at their birthday parties so trying to talk to them on the phone is not the wisest idea.

See, when you’re a kid, and you can’t get what you want, you can throw a tantrum and cry. But when you’re an adult and you attempt to do that — you’re labelled as childish. So, what’s an adult to do? ๐Ÿ™‚ In my case I just walked around feeling a lot like a lousy aunt. It’s so hard to live far away sometimes, you miss out on so many things. It seems Little-Miss-3-Year-Old recently told my sister “I’m a baby you know”. Hahaha, I would have loved to see that in person.

I also missed Diwali with my family. Every year that I don’t get to go home, I try to play it cool. I think my family thinks I’m perfectly okay despite not celebrating Diwali with them. But to be honest, it really breaks my heart. The bf is always tiptoeing around me towards Diwali because he knows that I’m a bit ’emotionally fragile’ (read: moody) around that time of the year. I get upset knowing that I cannot eat my mother’s cakes and cookies and lately I get even more upset knowing that I cannot spend time with my niece. We can’t have everything, can we? For Diwali, you are encouraged to make something to signify that you are celebrating. If you don’t make anything, it means you are not celebrating Diwali. So I scrambled, two days before my business trip, and made some chocolate chip cookies (From an instant mix – I know! Me! Using an instant mix..) and then ate some while I was packing for my trip that weekend. It was so, damn, sad. In 2007, when my younger sister was all alone in UK, she called me on Diwali and was bawling her eyes out. I put on the whole tough-cookie image and kept telling her there is nothing to cry about. This year, I was pretty close to tears, especially at work when I tried not to think about how much fun my family was having and how I far away I was.

So how was the business trip? It was… eventful. I missed one of my flights (by 2 friggin’ minutes) on the way to Seattle and ended up being routed through Chicago — adding 6 more hours to my trip. It was very, very tiring. On my way back I was told at the check-in counter, “your connection is worrying, you only have 5 minutes between the landing time of your second flight and the boarding time of your third flight”. Now, I am all for honesty, but this turned out to be unnecessary information. I spent most of my flight worrying about this final connection only to make it in the end, with no hassle. So why did they tell me all this at check-in? (Took almost 24 hours to get home from the hotel in Seattle, and I was worrying for a good 20 hours.) People are strange, right? You tell them in advance, and then nothing bad happens, and they get annoyed for being warned. If you don’t tell them, and something bad happens, they get annoyed for not being warned.

Now the other reason I’ve been kind of quiet is because – my iPhone 4 got stolen. I don’t like writing about negative stuff on my blog. I try really hard to stick to the sunny side of the street and not wallow in bad incidents, but this one, I have to write about it, as it is eating at me. I was getting on a pretty full bus, one Friday evening, after a long day at work… looking forward to having dinner with the bf and trying to unwind after a crazy week. I felt my bag being tugged at but thought nothing of it until 1 minute later I realized “the phone!” so I quickly got off the bus to check my bag. Lo and behold, the pocket where I usually kept my phone was open and the phone was gone.

It was horrible. I panicked and called the bf (I have a second phone, bet the thief did not know that!) and then he arrived and we had to make a police report and block my SIM card. Theft happens everywhere, even in Norway, one of the richest countries in the world — I keep telling myself that. But it’s a bit hard to swallow sometimes because I expect more from Norway. I really do. I’ve been here almost 5 years and have never been robbed or pick pocketed before. It should just continue being that way, right? I do admit I have seen a lot of warning signs on the buses, etc, about pickpockets but I thought nothing of them. I’m also not a careless person :/ It was just one of _those_ days, you know?

My phone was insured, and I did manage to claim the insurance. But now, I’m stuck. I have a work phone which is not an iPhone and I don’t really like it. I know, this makes me sound like a fanboy of the fruit company, but that’s not really true. It’s just that I’ve had an iPhone for the past two and a half years and it just works so well that I cannot even consider using anything else. My phone is the first thing I pick up when I wake up (to check today’s calendar) and the last thing I look at before I go to sleep (to set my list of alarms for the next morning). I feel so empty without it. I am currently using the older version I kept as spare, but it’s just not the same.

I can’t get a new one just yet – because the new one is kind of expensive and comes with a contract. I don’t want another contract :/ So in other words, I’m whinging over a first world problem ๐Ÿ™‚

I guess I am a glass-half-empty person after all, always pining away for that missing part rather than appreciating the parts that are there.

Excuse me while I go drown my sorrow in chocolate and warm tea. I promise to write a better, more uplifting post next time.

13 responses

  1. I’m really sorry to hear about the troubles you’ve been through lately, and for not being able to be with your family on Diwali. It’s your blog and all, but I don’t think you should you keep negativity out of your blog. I mean, you’re allowed to be frustrated, to whine and to share your experiences – and speaking from experience, it helps. I try my best to put on my happy face at all times, but if I didn’t have my blog where I can whine and get my frustrations out of my head, I would have gone insane long time ago. And I also think that showing both sides makes a blog more genuine. No one lives a perfect life, no? ๐Ÿ™‚ Hugs!

    • Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s just that I’m obsessed about staying positive that it takes a lot for me to write a rant post, though I have to say I always feel better after expressing myself via words.

      • I think… in order to be able to stay positive, you have to let the negativity out. Don’t lock it up inside. ๐Ÿ™‚ Anyway, I’m here if you need someone to talk to, even if it’s just for ranting. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. oh man, it was my first diwali away from home, and man it sucked cuz its the one festival that we do celebrate in our home. Iy was okay cause I was out and about with friends, and im glad that the city i live in has a fair population of desis. from what i heard from my friend who was all alone, i felt so bad for her. diwali wud have def been a more depressing time if i just sat in my room, watching my parents do puja thru skype ;_;
    oh noes! sorry to hear about ur flight troubles! hopefully good shopping made up for it?
    *hugs* sh*t happens, and i totes agree, life feels like its never the same way again. *hugs*
    dont worry, gloomy days help us appreciate the good days. and i agree with Shamini, let it out ๐Ÿ™‚ we’re all friends here ๐Ÿ˜€ โค hope u feel better soon!

    • Yes, Diwali is also one of the very few festivals we go all out to celebrate. Hehehe, watching the puja through skype would have been cute though ๐Ÿ™‚

      The flight situation was stressful – it doesn’t help when the ground staff at airports are so cold to you after you’ve missed your flight. They tell you stuff like “Yes, the flight is gone, two minutes ago” with this cold look despite seeing that you ran and you are huffing and puffing. It really wasn’t my fault though, yet they kind of made it look like I was strolling around and sniffing perfumes instead of rushing towards my gate. Urgh :/

      Yes, sh*t happens for sure! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for being so consoling..my friend.

  3. Dude!! I swear we live parallel lives!
    I was all alone this diwali for the first time. I felt HORRIBLE. Something was missing and I did some puja on my own reading lakshmi aarti from a wikipedia page. The worst part was my mom asking me if I have a bf who could celebrate it with me? No mom, I am still single. Yup, you know you have been single when even your conservative Indian parents ask you that….salt on wounds much? haha
    As for you missing your niece’s birthday, I am sorry. I told you how much I love my dog and she is turning one on Nov 15 and I’ll miss it. I brought her home after so much disapproval and now she doesnt get to be with me ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I am shattered.
    I am going to Seattle on saturday to shop. Speaking of, what did you get?
    My phone, which is also an Iphone, but 2G, is wrecked. I can’t afford another phone, but what can I do? ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • I wouldn’t be surprised if we did ๐Ÿ™‚ Hehehe, your Mom sounds cool.

      I’ve never really had a pet, but I have read about special bonds people have with their pets so I can totally understand your feeling. I hope you get to go home soon – even if it’s for a holiday.

      I did check out Aritzia..but ouch, it was pricey. I’m more of a bargain shopper, so I ended up at Gap/Banana Republic mostly. I love that they sell somewhat unique (in Norway at least, since we don’t have those brands) wool-mix sweaters at such reasonable prices. My only splurge was a pair of jeans from Abercrombie and Fitch that fits like a glove. Love it to bits. I did make multiple visits to Sephora but tried hard to be strict with myself. They have this Tarte to go boxed set of a small Tarte Amazonian Clay blush in Dollface and a bronzer as well (all for 15 USD). Tarte makes the best blushes as that Amazonian Clay range lasts all day on my face. Do try it out if you get a chance. The full size blush in Natural Beauty is really nice too. I did pick up NARS’s Holiday eyeshadow duo in Mandchourie. I love blue/gray shades.

      Noooo, you go to Seattle the weekend after I have left. Not fair ๐Ÿ™‚

      I can’t justify another phone unless I can get it unlocked in the US – that’s the only way I can prevent buyers’ remorse. So, let’s see.

      • I totally understand, Aritizia is expensive and to be honest their sales are ridiculous too, you get $5 off from a $100 thing lol, you don’t really save much or anything at all. But what can I say I am a super spoiled brat and the only girl, so my mom LOVES to see me dress up in nice clothes. The older I get, the more obnoxious I feel saying that…but it will be interesting to see how my spending habits change once I start earning. To be honest, I love Banana Republic too, it is practical and stylish. I don’t buy things from Abercrombie and Fitch because they take snobbery to the the next level. They are so discriminatory against “ugly” people. Its impossible to get a job in A&F if you are considered “unattractive” by whatever standards they put forth…but I did get “recruited” by them while shopping once and I hate to say this, but I kind of felt proud of myself. LOL! But I just never shop there, I never fit in high school, so it makes me feel kind of uncomfortable buying things from a store which promotes social hierarchy, does it make sense? But at the end of the day, its only a great pair of jeans, so who cares? haha!

        Sephora has a VIB sale going on this week and turns out my parents are paying me a visit, so it couldn’t be more perfect in that sense. I will definitely check out Tarte’s blushes, but I have DIOR and YSL on my mind. Ok, NARS too ๐Ÿ˜›

      • Ah, didn’t know that about Abercrombie. Always thought they were just less-frequented by people due to their slightly expensive prices and their strong perfume they spray so much into the air, I feel like it’s coming out of my pores.

        Aritzia has a lot of designer stuff that you can get in Oslo too, but I try very hard not to succumb for designer items as I am afraid I won’t be able to wear regular items anymore. It’s kind of like buying too much Chanel makeup then you cannot wear Wet n Wild stuff, anymore, you know? Speaking of Wet n Wild, I picked up their 99 cents eyeliners, not bad quality, for 99 cents. The pencils are *so* long. Such value for money…makes me wonder what ingredients are in there ๐Ÿ™‚

        You’re the only daughter? How unfair! ๐Ÿ™‚ I have two sisters and being the middle child, was always “offered” my elder sister’s hand me downs. It kind of helped that she was girly and I was a tomboy so I refused to wear them. I don’t think you’re spoiled though…it’s nice to buy good quality items. Say a winter jacket for 300 bucks. I would have gotten one (Aritzia had gorgeous jackets) but I already bought this camel coat from Esprit that Gisele Bundchen was modelling. I figured it’s the closest I can come to looking like her (hehe). (http://fashionpiece.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/08/1b0db__esprit5.jpg) I love that coat, it’s 80% wool and will keep me alive most of winter. (*cough* Mine cost me a bit, though, as I bought it here :/)

        I think it’s good to recognize that you are pampered by your parents. Makes you appreciate them more. I was pampered as a child. I never wanted for anything. I didn’t even drive anywhere, my parents drove me everywhere. I just sat in the back seat ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes, once you start working, your taste in clothes will change and because you are paying for it yourself, you will start out as stingy but later move on towards buying “Key investment pieces” as fashion magazines call it. Hehe. I ‘invest’ in winter coats, boots, handbags, and jeans. I have high ‘price tolerance’ for a good pair of jeans as I wear jeans to work almost every single day – part of the perks of working for software engineering firms. When I shop in the US, I have a price cutoff in my head. I try hard to buy items that are <100 $ because I need both — quantity and quality. The clothing variety in Norway is not large and most people wear similar clothing. I like to dress differently. I even stay away from Zara these days because half the people on the streets are clothed in Zara. (Now I sound spoiled.)

      • hahaha i dont even know where to begin to reply to this message….but I love talking to you Fieran โค I don't even know how we came across each other, but I absolutely love talking to you.

        Yes, being an only daughter is fun, but sometimes I wish I had a support system in a sister. You know, having a sister is like having a best friend who lives with you, unless there is some sibling rivalry. My mom does refer to my puppy as her third child now and she says that I am her "behna" which is a funny way of saying sister in Hindi. lol…my family is strange but our puppy is adorable, so please don't blame us.

        HAHAHA at the perfume thing at abercrombie. They do have some cute stuff though. But yes, they market it towards the outgoing blonde popular 16 y o's mostly. That's a nice coat and yeah it better keep you warm. I am sorry that shopping is ridiculous in Oslo, but at least you travel frequently. I wouldn't want to live in a Nordic country, because that is against my materialistic north american mentality…add to that materialist indian genes and of course, my make-up obsession. I have a feeling we wont last long, but I would love to visit ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Likewise, babe, likewise.

        I have two sisters – though as a child I always whined to my parents about wanting to be the only child – truth be told, I wouldn’t trade them for the world. The three of us have our quirks but we get along pretty well. I wouldn’t say they are my best friends as we are a bit too individualistic [accountant, engineer, lawyer]- but if I’m in trouble, I know I can definitely count on my sisters to save me. We’re fiercely loyal ๐Ÿ™‚

        So the puppy is your sister? So cute ๐Ÿ™‚

        Yes, the perfume thing at Abercrombie is true, people have complained about it before. It even was mentioned in the newspapers before I think, especially with their store in NYC. Yes, traveling outside of Oslo is great for shopping – at least I feel a bit special when I wear different items that are not available for purchase here. I’m materialistic myself. I haven’t been here long enough to speak for the Nordic lifestyle, but Norweigans in general do like buying stuff. They invest in good winter clothing, ski equipment, etc. And most of them do travel a bit, especially to the South of Europe (Spain, Portugal, Italy, etc.) so I am assuming they do a fair bit of shopping outside of Norway as well. I think it’s just hard to import so much stuff to a small country so the variety suffers. But I’m not complaining as long as I get my two-three vacation trips a year, I’m happy ๐Ÿ™‚ The makeup obsession is another story. I’d be really, really sad if the bf stops travelling for work. Shhh, don’t tell him I said that.

  4. *Hugs* Look on the bright side, at least you had your boyfriend with your for Diwali instead of being completely alone. Perhaps you could have a long vacation next year in Malaysia during Diwali, that would be perfect.

    Was hoping you’d put up photos of your US trip! Sounds like you had a busy time there, can only imagine how you must have felt about almost missing the flights. And the missed flight too! Coz I’ve been in that situation, sucked big time!!

    Anyway, don’t worry, I’m sure your niece still loves you very much, now you just have to get her a BIG gift when you see her next, hehe. You’re still a great aunt. I’m sure of that.

    And as for losing your phone (and this is something we malaysians tend to believe in), just see it as ‘buang sial’, you know what I mean? LIke it coulda been a whole worse eg: wallet or bag which would be even more frustrating. Plus hey you’ve already had it for 2.5 years so that’s something. My hubby has the tendency of getting his phone stolen once every year so you can imagine.

    Cheer up babe! *kisses from Sairah*

    • I guess you’re right. He was supposed to travel during that Diwali week, but the plans fell through two months ago. I’m thinking of going to Malaysia early next year, or maybe in June. Let’s see how things pan out (or how expensive the tickets get!).

      Sorry, I did not manage to take any photos in my US trip as everything was so crammed. I had about 1.5 days to myself, where I tried to deal with jetlag and do some walking around on my own. Then my manager and another colleague arrived and then it was meetings galore. I don’t drive, so in the US, I was at my manager’s mercy. She drove us from the hotel to the office and back. Otherwise I walked mostly, to the restaurants/mall nearby.

      Yes, I think I’ve spent way too much time at airports this year, so I have so much less patience when I’m there.

      Aww, thanks. *HUG* You’re too kind.

      True, I could think of it as “buang sial”.. it’s just that it’s erm, the newer version of the phone. I ‘upgraded’ it early this year. True, wallet or passport would have been a nightmare.

      Hugs to Sairah from me, she’s such a cutie.

Leave a Reply

