Sunday is No Day Off

I’m actually working today, despite it being a Sunday. I’m trying to finish a drawing for work that is much easier to do at my dining table with my trusty new mouse than at work when it’s buzzing with people. I’m addicted to being productive: If I’m on top of things, I get a certain sense of satisfaction that results in an extra bounce in my step at work πŸ™‚

Yes, yes, as you already know, work is the reason I haven’t been posting much. I come home beat most days, ready to eat dinner and crash. Some days I convince myself to head out to brave the cold and squeeze in a workout. My energy levels have improved a lot since starting this new job. The trick I use is to eat less lunch (more vegetables, some feta, some chickpeas with less bread) and eat a snack two hours later (a banana, an apple, or a Larabar).

Apart from doing a bit of work, I also baked a chocolate cake (with the bf’s help, of course). This chocolate cake is a family recipe that my Mother made for many years until recently my younger sister took over the tradition of baking it for birthday and Diwali parties. It’s kind of nice to make the same cake, far, far away in this corner of the world. I’ve never bothered to make this cake before as I always tell myself “you don’t need the calories”. This time, though, I really wanted to make a classic chocolate cake as a colleague who was leaving mentioned he’d like chocolate cake for his last day at work. It’s quite common in companies here to eat cake on your last day at work. Usually the cake is bought by the company and at a fixed time, on your last day, everybody who worked with you shows up to eat cake and reminisce the ‘good old days’.

Classic Chocolate Cake

Now my fridge is full of chocolate cake to be shared out tomorrow. I only had this tiny piece as I’m trying to exercise portion control. Excuse the kiddish bowl, it was a gift from my mother when I moved away from home.

Classic Chocolate Cake -- My Portion

Oh, I forgot to mention that the bf made a really yummy pizza for lunch. He’s been working on perfecting his pizza recipe so it’s one of the dishes he is more than willing to make any day. Cake and pizza in the same day – I sure am a lucky girl (or old hag).

 

Eggplant and Mozzarella Pizza

I hope your weekend was a good one πŸ™‚

4 responses

  1. My eyes are FIXED at the choc cake. The icing looks thick and nice, reminds me of my mom’s choc cake. Bet it’s yummy too. And pizza looks good too, nice to be pampered by the bf eh? Okay now I”m hungry!!! And it’s only 10.20 a.m!

    • When I’m down in Malaysia next year, I’ll make some for you and Sairah πŸ˜‰

      The bf loves cooking. Sometimes, when he’s over at my apartment, I let him have the kitchen and just help with tasting and the measurements.

      It’s 10.53am here. I eat lunch between 11-11.30 most days, that’s when the office canteen has the best food. After 12, it’s all downhill.

  2. Oh, the cake looks lovely! And what a nice thought, that you’re both making it so far far away from each other. And yum, the pizza looks fantastic! Your man sure is skilled πŸ™‚

    I recognize what you say about work-eat-crash. Hah, I’m all the same recently. Hug!

    • Heh, S and I are both foodies, hence the cooking craze. Remember you mentioned to me, in person.. “You like food right?” .. hehehe. I remember that very well πŸ™‚

      It was heartbreaking to resist so much cake. The recipe I had created a round cake in the big round tin and one small loaf-sized one. I gave away 1/3 of it to my office, and 1/3 of it to S’s office and then we ate a few pieces over a few days and actually threw the remainder away as it was just too much cake.

Leave a Reply

