Two Dishes I Cooked Recently

In an effort to reduce carbs and increase protein, I made Minestrone soup without macaroni. I didn’t follow any particular recipe as I could vaguely remember the last recipe I used.

Minestrone Soup Minus Macaroni

So this is a bit of a hodgepodge Minestrone soup. It definitely added some fire in the belly on a cold, cold evening.

Now this dish, Chili Prawn Linguine, is something I love making. In fact, the bf and I make it at least once every two months. We start to miss the juicy, succulent prawns if we go for awhile without eating this dish.

Chili Prawn Linguine

I couldn’t find wholewheat Linguine so I used wholewhat Spaghetti instead. I also added some rocket leaves to add some “greens” to the dish. I also skipped parmesan to reduce the salt content.

You can get this recipe from my older blog here but for convenience’s sake, I’ll paste it here too šŸ™‚

Ingredients:

Prawns, approximately 500 grams
About 200 grams of linguine (I usually estimate half a packet)
Zest of half a lemon (according to taste)
1 or 2 cloves garlic, chopped
1 tablespoon olive oil
2-3 red chillies sliced (according to taste) [I used bottled chili paste]
Salt, pepper, and parsley (according to taste)
Garnish with grated Parmesan (optional)

Method:

Boil linguine according to instructions on the packet.
In a separate frying pan, heat olive oil and fry garlic.
When the garlic is fragrant, add in prawns.
As the prawns start to go opaque and curl in, stir in chili slices for a minute or two. (Prawns cook very quickly so you’ll have to watch closely.)
Once the prawns are done, switch off the stove.
Stir in the lemon rind.
Toss with linguine.
Season with salt, pepper, and parsley.
Top with grated Parmesan.

2 responses

  1. Your minestrone looks like the perfect pick-me-up on a cold day! So comforting and tempting – I’d love some right now, in fact! Can you send some my way? šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

