French Toast with French Butter

I’m not sure if you’ve heard but the city I live in was having a butter shortage recently. Now, don’t laugh 🙂 It is funny in a way, but it’s actually been hard. I love baking and I had grand plans of baking a chocolate cake for my office cake party (that I had to skip in the end); I had also planned on baking biscotti and taking them to Germany for the bf’s parents.

It is true when they say you don’t know what you’ve got until it’s gone.

Yesterday I almost danced in the supermarket – almost – because I saw that they had a small pile of French butter. After a few weeks of empty butter shelves, I’ll take anything. Not margarine though, I don’t think that’s a good substitute for butter.

So this morning, since I’m on leave half of December, I thought I’ll make some French Toast and ask the bf to stop by for breakfast on his way to work.

French Toast with French Butter

I was mildly inspired by this recipe but here’s what I did (for 7 slices of white bread):

  • Heat a skillet on medium heat.
  • In a wide bowl, mix 3 eggs, 1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon, 1 teaspoon of vanilla essence, 1/2 teaspoon of salt, and approxiamately 1 3/4 cup of milk. The mixture’s consistency should be slightly runny.
  • Add butter to the skillet; as the butter melts, swirl the skillet so the surface is evenly coated.
  • Dip a slice of bread into your mixture, ensuring it’s coated evenly.
  • Place the slice of bread onto the skillet and fry it. Flipping the bread will require a bit of patience as it might be a bit soggy.
  • Repeat for the remaining slices.
  • Serve with fresh fruit and maple syrup. Powdered sugar is optional.

 

8 responses

  1. YUMMY! I love french toast, my mom makes good french toast. Anyway for the long weekend, I’ll probably try this out. Will tell you how it turns out 🙂 Enjoy your trip, I believe you should be flying off to new york soon right? Take lots of photos! *hugs*

    • Is your Mom’s recipe different? I’m getting curious now since I’ve heard she cooks very well 😉

      Yes, went to Germany first for Christmas with the bf’s family, then New York. It’s been 13 days of travel and we’re back to work today. Feeling really tired but happy 🙂

  2. How nice of you to get up early and serve your bf such a treat for breakfast! He’s lucky, you’re a real catch, Ms. Fieran 🙂

  3. Oh, god, that looks so damn good.

    Haha, I totally read in the news a while ago about the butter shortage in Norway and instantly thought of you, ’cause you’re the only person I know that lives there. Ironically, I like margarine better than butter… Blasphemous, I know. Anyway, totally forgot about that shortage until I read this post! Hope it wasn’t too expensive. 😛

  4. Oh, god, that looks so damn good.

    Haha, I totally read in the news a while ago about the butter shortage in Norway and instantly thought of you, ’cause you’re the only person I know that lives there. Ironically, I like margarine better than butter… Blasphemous, I know. Anyway, totally forgot about that shortage until I read this post! Hope it wasn’t too expensive. 😛

    • Hahaha, I’m flattered that you thought of me! I grew up eating a lot of Margerine actually, but later I developed a taste for butter. It wasn’t too expensive. The cost of living in Oslo is expensive as it is so we’re kind of used to the prices.

  5. Butter shortage?? Of all the things… lol

    That looks really yummy! I remember back in HS I’d cook myself eggs and french toast for breakfast every single day. Yep, I must have gained about 10 pounds, but it was soooo good.

Leave a Reply

