So Long 2011

I usually write a reflection post around the end of the year or the beginning of the next year. I’ve been traveling, hence the delay. This is what I wrote last year.

Can you believe the year has passed so fast? I found 2011 so challenging. I was rolling with the punches constantly, trying to grab every single opportunity that came my way.

So..what happened in 2011?

  • I switched jobs and am quite content with my current one. I don’t think there is such a thing as a perfect job – you just have to learn to change what is within your influence and tolerate/accept the rest. Though, having said that, I feel very grateful for what I have, career-wise.
  • Iย travelledย a whole lot more than I expected: Trondheim, Berlin, Malaysia, Indonesia, London, India (Chennai), Washington State, Ueberlingen/Konstanz, and New York. I had so much fun on these trips and actually accumulated so much frequent flying miles to retain the benefits my favourite airlines provides me with. I guess the only “person” who did not enjoy these trips is my bank account ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m really grateful for being able to travel so much and experience the world. The travels have inadvertently contributed to some serious packing skills ๐Ÿ™‚
  • The bf and I still get along really well. Seriously he’s the only person with enough patience to deal with my crazies. He’s also a lot of fun to travel with. If we miss a flight or have to run to our boarding gate, we don’t get angry about it. Usually we just laugh it off or sooth our anger with chocolate ๐Ÿ™‚ [though these days it’s Larabars]
  • I’ve managed to increase the intensity of my workouts at the gym – though with some minor setbacks likeย tendinitisย and muscle ache. It’s gotten much better though ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve also become quite strong lately; having to carry my laptop to and from work is no longer an effort these days. Even luggage lifting is less difficult.
  • My skin has improved to a certain extent. I’m not acne-free, but I get a lot less pimples than I used to. I’m also less obsessed with it, seems to work better that way.
  • I’ve become a much calmer person. I remember getting angry more frequently years ago. These days I’m more sad and annoyed, rather than angry. I guess the years are definitely catching up ๐Ÿ™‚
  • I have a much more pleasant relationship with my sisters: seriously we almost never disagree or argue any more. It’s precious to me as I barely get to see them. I guess we just got older and learned the art of patience ๐Ÿ™‚
  • I’ve found make up addiction. Sometimes the simple thought of ‘What eyeshadow to wear?’ actually gets me out of bed. It’s that much fun. I’ve also met some really cool women out there who have wonderful tastes in make up and although they are enablers, I couldn’t ask for better online make up experts. I’ve also noticed makeup is a great way to start a conversation. A lot of retail assistants at beauty stores have started talking to me because of a particular eyeshadow colour/look I was wearing.

Overall, I couldn’t ย ask for more. I hope you had a good year last year and 2012 will be just as good or even better.ย Here’s some food for thought ๐Ÿ™‚

8 responses

  1. You definitely had an awesome 2011, esp with all that travelling. okay new york update, quick, pleaseee ๐Ÿ™‚ I want to see tons of photos and read all about it since I”m not going there any time soon! As for less breakout, what skin care products are you using now? Pls do share. And I get what you mean with the makeup addiction, starting to fall in love with makeup again.

  2. Hello! ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy New Year (belated). I hope you had an awesome time with your family.

    Hehehe, yes, definitely a good 2011 – I cannot complain. In fact I feel like I really pushed my luck. I have some photographs and will definitely post them. I got back on 3rd Jan night, and had to get to work immediately the next day as I had already been on leave half of December. It’s raining work now so will only be able to pick up the camera and start uploading photographs this weekend. I haven’t even had time to call my parents. They must be wondering if I’ve decided to remain in New York and not come back to Norway ๐Ÿ™‚

    I am taking some medication off and on. It’s not Accutane but a very mild antibiotic. That really helps to reduce the number of pimples I have but it’s probably something I have to take for a very, very long time. The name of the antibiotic is Tetralaysal. I take it for a few months, then I stop, then I take it again. This time I’m taking one tablet a day or when I remember. So it kind of keeps my body guessing. When I started I took 2 tablets a day, one in the morning and one in the evening for 2 months continuously. I’ve also been prescribed two creams – Epiduo and Arbarella. Epiduo is Benzoyl Peroxide and it works well for me but I have to use it sparingly otherwise I feel the skin just gets used to it. In the beginning it was really harsh on my skin and made it peel, now it’s much better. Arbarella is a retinoid and I haven’t started using it yet as I’m a bit worried my skin will start to peel again.

    I noticed some connection with my pimples to caffeine, sugar and cream. So I try to eat less of it. I also workout from time to time. I go to the gym bare-faced, much to my own discomfort, but I hope it makes some difference for my skin. I also travel bare-faced, and feel really bad for the flight attendants who have to look at me ๐Ÿ™‚

    I have somewhat oily skin and I used to use Clinique but lately I find it a bit harsh on my sensitive skin. I was recommended Origins Checks and Balances cleanser for combination skin. It works quite well with balancing the oil. I also have been trying this Konjak sponge (it’s made from the same plant that Japanese people use to make Konyaku jelly, you might have eaten it before). It costs about 5 GBP and you can buy it from Zuneta.com or http://www.konjacspongecompany.com/ .. this sponge makes my skin feel very soft and supple. Like the elasticity is much better. I’m using the normal skin one and might try the troubled skin version later. My skin is very fussy and seems to need a lot of pampering. I have to alternate products a lot otherwise it just plateaus and there’s no improvement. I also need to exfoliate a bit otherwise I feel like my serum is not absorbed properly and the foundation does not sit well.

    Whimsicaljottings recommended this Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair serum. It costs and arm and a leg but the bf was kind enough to pick up a bottle for me at duty free. That serum also helps a lot with improving the scars and the texture of my skin. This works very well with uneven scars and such.

    Sorry for the long response ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Haha enjoyed reading your response. Anyway I think I know which meds you’re on coz I used to take em often too. Two tablets twice a day for the first month. Then two for each day. It did my skin some good. Infact I was on it until I found out I was pregnant. A good alternative to Roaccutane, but of course it’s for only mild breakouts.

      Anyway just wanted to let you know that I recently got some skincare from Naruko (it’s from taiwan), after experiencing some major breakouts for the past few months. I got the Oil out clay cleanser with the toner and also the Narcissus Night Gelly, they seem to work well. No breakouts so far and god knows I have sensitive skin. My skin is less oily now. You can check out their store here:

      http://www.naruko.my/shop/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=70

      But whether it will stop breakouts is something i still have to wait before concluding it. For now, am loving it.

      Ooo will check out Estee Lauder too for improving my scars, but I have to say, they’re pretty pricey!

      • Thanks a lot for sharing your products! It always helps to know what works and what doesn’t. You know the Narcissus Night Gelly seems to have similar claims to Estee Lauder’s Advanced Night Repair. The EL serum is definitely pricey and I wouldn’t have bought it had I not tried a sample beforehand. It does work on scars and such but after using it for awhile. Skincare products are even more expensive here so I usually pick up samples and such then buy when I travel/in duty free. I think if I travel less, I’ll have to resort to online shopping and pay import taxes. *shudder*

        I’m trying really hard to avoid using Roaccutane. It scares me. My dermatologist said that if what I’m using now doesn’t work then I might have to switch to that but I’m not going to think about it. I’m hoping it’ll even out after sometime and I can kind of “manage” it. A girl can dream, right? ๐Ÿ™‚ For now the skin is much better with 2-3 obvious pimples a month so I can accept that. Used to be worse.

      • You should pick it out when you come back to Malaysia next ๐Ÿ™‚ Hmm, well if they have similiar claims then I rather use Naruko first as it’s MUCH cheaper. I’m a bit of a stingy person when it comes to spending on skincare coz I dont believe I’ll get 100% smooth skin ever again (I’ve spent thousands on lasers but dont think they did much for my scars so now I can’t be arsed) so….wow didn’t know skincare was so expensive in Norway.

        I’ve been on Roaccutane a few times already and I can vouch that it does wonders for the skin – you get clear skin in 2 months tops. But i hear there are lots of downside like depression for some. For me, I didnt have any side effect. You get acne-free skin for the next 2 years too. But somehow my breakouts came back after 2 years. But if the other meds is working for you, by all means go ahead and use that, i know it worked for me!

      • Actually the thing that scares me the most about taking Accutane is that it could weaken your joints. That’s going to ruin my gym routine ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

        You’re right, if it’s working then it’s good ๐Ÿ™‚

        I don’t think I’ll be changing my skincare products anytime soon though. I used to use Lush’s Angels on Bare Skin cleanser when it wasn’t available in Norway and it was a nightmare trying to buy it online and have it shipped etc. It’s really.. energy draining.. to be dependent on stuff you can’t get where you live.

  3. Your year sounds both exciting and stressful, dear. I’m glad you were able to come see us up here, and that you got to venture on such exciting travels. Last but not least happy you and the bf get along well! Wish you all good things for the new year, sweetheart! Hugs

    • Aww thank you Pinchy. I really value our friendship and am so glad we got to meet last year. Maybe our paths will cross again in the future. I hope you had a good 2011 and 2012 will be even better for you.

Leave a Reply

