Review: Jo Malone Vanilla & Anise, Pomegranate Noir

In case it wasn’t obvious from this post and this post, I love perfumes and colognes.

Jo Malone's Colognes: Vanilla & Anise and Pomegranate Noir

When I was in London, the bf and I were sampling colognes and he thought Vanilla & Anise smelled really good. Since I didn’t have a cologne with that type of fragrance I got it.

Here’s the official description of Vanilla & Anise:

“This fresh and modern cologne blends the delicate scent of the vanilla orchid with vanilla bourbon and envelops the skin with an aromatic richness that truly blooms with the warmth of the body. Sensual and unique.”

I’ve had that bottle for awhile now but I haven’t used it much as I had read that Jo Malone’s fragrances are nicer when combined with another fragrance. Β I’m no expert but the idea of layering fragrances sounds like fun so when I was in New York, I checked out the Jo Malone store on Bleecker Street. I asked the retail assistant to recommend a scent that will layer well with Vanilla & Anise and she recommended Grapefruit and Pomegranate Noir. After smelling both of them, I chose Pomegranate Noir instead as I liked the slightly darker, woody fragrance than the fresher one that Grapefruit gave.

Jo Malone's Colognes: Vanilla & Anise and Pomegranate Noir

This is the official description for Pomegranate Noir:

“This iconic cologne is uniquely composed around an intensely fruity pomegranate accord that warms on the skin to reveal an incredible sensuality through the combination of patchouli, frankincense and spicy woods. Seductive and utterly compelling.”

Now I wish I could describe what this combination smells like, but the best I can do is a cross between fruity and flowery but also slightly dark (probably due to Pomegranate Noir).Β I know, I know, that description is not going to make you run out the door to get these fragrances, but I tried πŸ™‚

I really like the combination as it doesn’t smell very feminine. I really don’t like smelling like a flower. It’s so not me. But a combination of something not quite floral, fruity, and woody is much better.

Further reading

10 responses

  1. I really need to check out Jo Malone’s perfumes. I’ve been reading about them for years, and never really checked them out. I’m more so into the citrus and light floral scents, and Verbenas of Provence, Grapefruit, English Pear & Freesia, and Red Roses all sound positively delightful…

    So glad you’re enjoying your Jo Malones. πŸ˜€

    • The perfumes are really good but most of them don’t have very long staying power. Pomegranate Noir kind of helps Vanilla & Anise to prolong its smell.

      You should definitely try them if you get the chance. They’re quite nice at their stores and give out samples of their fragrances for you to layer with what you already have πŸ™‚

  2. Describing scent is so difficult, but you’ve managed to make me very curious =) Scents are so interesting, especially how they react to your personal chemistry and smell different on every person, too. Glad you’re enjoying them! =)

    • Hehehe, thanks Pinchy!

      Do try them out if you get the chance. Especially if you’re flying through Heathrow (I haven’t done that in ages) and you’re in Terminal 3 or 5. I think one of those terminals have Jo Malone at duty free.

  3. Combining perfumes? Is that a way of them to sell more perfumes? hehe πŸ™‚ I keep seeing alot of Jo Malone perfume reviews thesedays. I dont think we have a store here but the Vanilla & Anise has got me interested….I love vanilla, mmmm.

    • Hehe, it’s actually more of a way to create your own signature scent. But you’re right, it is also a way to sell more. Jo Malone has these boxed sets sometimes with a few bottles of various scents that you can mix and match to your liking.

      They don’t have a store in Malaysia but they’re available in Hong Kong, Thailand, Australia and Singapore in case you want to check them out. If you have friends in the UK you can ask them to get you samples. They are very generous with their samples.

  4. You know what, I want to buy more perfumes. I don’t have a big collection because my parents both hate fragrances and claim they get a headache after they catch a whiff of me. My dad is still with me here for a while because he had a project going from work here, so I guess I still can’t expand my collection…but only a couple of more months before i can venture into the big bad world of fragrance. And Jo Malone will be the first on the list! Yes!

    • Hehehe you’re too cute. I used to never buy a new perfume until I finished the bottle I was using. But the bf is a bad influence, he likes buying perfume so he buys them for me when he travels. Now I have so many that I have to start using them properly. Hence, the perfume reviews these days πŸ™‚

      Some perfumes are kind of strong though, but Jo Malone ones are quite mild and pleasant. It’s not possible to OD on it.

  5. I wanna try Jo Malone’s fragrances, too.. I have been curious for a while, but they cost like a million dollars.. Well, okay, not really, but they’re a little pricey. Also, I love the idea of layering scents!

    P.S. I love understated bottles and Jo Malone’s bottles are EXQUISITE!

    • I agree, Jo Malone is not exactly cheap. That’s why I only limit myself to the 30ml bottles (she also has 100ml bottles) as I have so many other perfume bottles that I don’t think I’ll finish a bottle anytime soon. If you are going to travel through London, I hear Heathrow has a Jo Malone at duty free. Someday I hope to go there. Unfortunately most flights that I take from Norway to Heathrow don’t go through those terminals with better duty free 😦

      These understated bottles seem to be really common these days, no? Like D&G’s numbered bottles.. I have #18 La Lune and it smells so nice. Also Marc Jacobs’ splash bottles are huge but they also have a similar understated design.

Leave a Reply

