The Weekend Diaries — 1

I’ve been meaning to write posts summing up what I did each weekend as that’s when I really live my life. LOL, I can’t help it šŸ™‚ Most of my weekdays are spent at work or at the gym. Some days the bf and I barely have time to sit down and chat as we’re always rushing around getting things done.

So, here’s the first volume of my weekend diary!

Last weekend we were invited to a friend’s 30th birthday on Saturday. It was not an adult party but a small gathering of some friends together with couples who have children. It did feel a little bit like a daycare, but in a good way. Some kids are so well behaved, you don’t even realize they are there. I was a bit of a brat as a child, so I’m always in awe when I come across well behaved kids šŸ™‚

I baked an orange butter cake for the event. It’s always nice to arrive at a friend’s place with something to give. I really feel very uncomfortable if I arrive with nothing to contribute. It’s not really a rule per se, just that it’s how Malaysian people visit each other. We always bring what is known as “buah tangan” (which literally translates to ‘hand fruits’…but no, that’s not what I mean). I used this recipe but doubled it up and then added the juice and zest of one whole orange along with 3 extra tablespoons of flour. The cake was awesome. So awesome I have no photographs of it. Heh šŸ˜‰

On Sunday we went to the gym. I’ve been trying to start running again – treadmill only – and I am happy to say it’s been going well. I love that exhilaration I get when I’m running in a particular rhythm and my mind is clear and I have a slight smile on my face thanks to the endorphins. *Happy sigh* At that moment, there is nothing else I could ask for.

I always love making noodle stir fries but I usually mess up a bit when it comes to cooking the noodles “al-dente”. This time I was trying to make Chicken Chow Mein for dinner on Sunday and went all tyrant at the kitchen. I insisted that we cut every ingredient properly before hand and like a quartet (if we include the frying pan and little bowls as two other members who worked with us) we managed to make a yummy Chicken Chow Mein. The recipe is from BBC (they make wonderful TV Series like Sherlock, but they also have some really good recipes on their site) and the noodles are organic but very flavourful.

Chicken Chow Mein with Organic Egg Noodles

6 responses

  1. Know what, I bought a packet of egg noodles the other day and was cracking my head as to how to cook it. So glad to see this here, now I can just use the same recipe šŸ™‚

  2. It does look delicious! You’ve tempted me to try some šŸ™‚ When you go to birthday parties that have so many children, I guess that means you’re an adult? šŸ™‚

    • Hahaha yes that’s when I have to behave like an adult. Then I start to think “Man, I’m old..I went to kindergarten so many ears ago!”

      You should definitely make chow mein. ICA sells the wholewheat version of these noodles too. I rotate between this version and the wholewheat one.

  3. Pingback: Easy Noodle Recipe, Chow Mein Recipe | the-missus-blogs.com

Leave a Reply

