Current Favourites

Current Favourites
I’ve been wearing my Levi’s Demi Curve Straight a lot lately. In fact I have like 5 pairs of them and I love them. They’re extremely comfortable for Spring/Summer and they go with almost anything.
I picked up the Crumpler Free Wheeler Messenger bag when I was in London a few months ago. It is perfect for work as I have to carry my laptop with me. It fits everything but the kitchen sink :) I love that it’s not boring black but a cool petrol blue shade with really slim neon yellow stripes.
Last Fall, when I was in Seattle, I met a wonderful makeup artiste at Nordstrom’s Chanel counter. She gave me a quick makeover (while I bugged her with a lot of annoying questions) with Chanel’s Perfection Lumiere foundation. I was surprised to find a shade that matched my skin tone perfectly (Ambre 94) and I immediately bought a bottle. Almost 5 months later and I’m still using that same bottle of foundation. Talk about value for money. I use it with Laura Mercier’s Oil Free Primer and it lasts more than 7 hours on my oily skin. This foundation barely needs any blending. You can even apply it with your fingers and it will literally melt into your skin. I do powder with a mixture of NARS Loose Powder in Mountain and MAC’s Prep+Prime Transparent Finishing Powder.
A lot of people I know are not big fans of MAC’s Mineralize Eyeshadow range. On the contrary, I love them as I always use a creamy base for my eyeshadow looks. The Mineralize eyeshadow clings on to the creamy base for dear life and usually lasts a good 6-8 hours with a primer. I can’t complain. My current favourite shade is Gilt By Association.
If you’ve ever tried on a Deborah Lippmann nail polish, you’ll definitely agree with me when I say she makes the best nail polishes. EVER. I’m constantly surprised by the formulation of her nail polish. I can spend up to a good 40 minutes painting my nails sometimes but with Ms. Lippmann’s colors, I can be done in less than 20 minutes sometimes. Ray of Light is a bluish purple shade with itty bitty copper flecks. It’s plain gorgeous. If you do see it at a store, please swatch it.

If you are looking for a good black eyeliner that you can smudge but will stay put after it has been smudged, Estee Lauder’s Pure Color Intense Kajal Eyeliner in Blackened Black is _the_ pencil. {It’s also got a really long name.} It is so soft and creamy, but not as creamy as YSL’s Dessin Du Regard so it’s a bit easier to work with. I use it for my upper and lower lashline and I really like. It’s quite similar to MAC’s Feline (which is limited edition – I have no idea why).

7 responses

  1. I love that jeans since its for babes like us with curve right? Will check it out and see if they have it in stores here and totally loving the color of your bag. I’ve always been a huge fan of teal :)

    • Yes :) I’m so glad Levi’s is only selling this range of jeans for women mostly. They seem to have phased out their other not-so-flattering cuts.

      Try the Curve range. You’ll like it. If you prefer thinner jeans, try Gap’s Curvy cut. It’s really flattering too. Last year they had a promotion (2 pairs for 200). If they have it again you can take your sister and it becomes very reasonable if you like their cutting.

      I love Crumpler bags. They’re so appropriate for rainy weather and traveling.

      Thanks for being so nice to me :)

  2. I love your picks! And wow, what a gorgeous nail polish. I’m sure it looks wonderful on you, too :) And of course you’d choose a petrol bag! :)

    • Thank you! I’m in love with the nail polish that I’m tempted to buy a backup. It’s not crazy loud but has some mystery with the coppery flecks in it. I shall post a swatch when I have some time.

      Hehehehe, the petrol colour is pretty me, I guess. I have to carry my laptop to and from work a few days a week and I am a wee bit annoyed about that because it means I can’t carry my handbag. So I wanted something statement-ish to kind of rebel in a twisted way. Not sure if that makes any sense though.

  3. Love your faves!!! Gilt by Association is probably one of my all-time favourite MAC Mineralize Eyeshadows. :) I’ve wanted to try a Chanel foundation for a while, and Perfection Lumiere sounds right up my alley. I may have to go to a Chanel counter to try out some shades…

    And I totally just ordered three Deborah Lippman polishes: Private Dancer, Sugar Daddy, and On the Beach. :) I wasn’t that impressed with the initial swatches I saw of Ray of Light, but this post might just change my mind…

  4. Hi! I just read about your trouble finding your foundation match in Oslo. Have you tried the shop Visage in Torggata? I am pretty sure they stock BECCA, and I actually believe that in order to stock BECCA, the store needs to carry all shades :)

    • Oh, thanks Kitty :) I have seen that store before but when I was hunting for a bottle of primer a few years ago, I called them up and they said a bottle would cost 550 NOK or something. Since then I kind of stayed away. Will see if I can stop by there one of these days.

      Thanks for pointing it out ! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

