Autumn Favourites

It’s been kind of cold here lately. Cold and windy. It’s not uncomfortable but my skin does take a beating when it’s windy. I get wind chapped lips and then the skin around my chin and mouth starts to peel. I have always had oily skin but for some reason, towards winter, my skin gets drier than ever.

I remember feeling really clueless during my first and second year in Scandinavia. Nowadays I’ve gotten better at knowing when to switch my skincare products to take better care of my skin, according to the seasons.

Here are some of my favourite skin and hair care products that make a world of difference for me.

Surviving Autumn

Clarin
saksfifthavenue.com

Origins skincare
$58 – johnlewis.com

Origins face cleanser
$27 – johnlewis.com

The Body Shop body shop
thebodyshop-usa.com

L occitane
sephora.com

 

 

    • Itch-preventing moisturizer: I use E45 for my dry spots to prevent them from becoming itchy. When the cold wind blows on my skin, it really sucks out all the moisture and can be very uncomfortable. Since I’m eczema prone, the E45 cream makes a big difference and helps to heal my eczema.
    • Intensive face moisturizer: Some days, during Autumn or Winter, the skin on my chin, eyebrows, and nose will start to peel. It’s really annoying because attempting to apply foundation or tinted moisturizer on those areas is not easy as the brush irritates it even more. To prevent my skin from getting so dry, I usually switch over to Clarins HydraQuench moisturizer during the end of Summer. I start using it at night and as it gets colder, I use it during the day as well. It’s a really good moisturizer but is best purchased at Duty Free outlets 😉
    • Delicious chocolate body scrub: I love Body Shop’s Chocomania body scrub. It’s really effective but also contains oils in it so it doesn’t irritate my skin. The scent is amazing and perfect to use on a cold, dark, rainy day. Like drinking a hot chocolate minus the calories.
    • Soothing eye cream: I already have wrinkles around my eye area and the last thing I want is to get more of them so I’m very diligent about applying eye cream. This eye cream makes my eye area brighter and the skin look and feel less crepey.
    • Balancing cream cleanser: Despite having oily skin, the Origins Checks and Balances cream cleanser cleanses like no other. I use it at least once a day, sometimes with my Clarisonic. I always keep a back up tube in my drawer.
    • Soothing hand cream: My hands get really dry in cold weather. Sometimes there will be small tears on the skin and it will sting when they are exposed to warm water. The L’Occitane shea butter hand cream is awesome. If you have dry hands, you should get it.
    • Smoothing shampoo: Dry, frizzy, broom-stick like hair is so annoying. I’ve been using the Redken Smoothdown shampoo and conditioner every Autumn and Winter for the past 4 years. I used to buy the bottles in Oslo and then I realized that for the same price of what I pay here, I can get the 1 litre salon-sized version back home. So, that’s what I did this year 🙂


What are your Autumn favourites?

6 responses

  1. I seriously LOVE the Origins Checks and Balances cleanser! I remember you mentioning how fantastic it was when I was in NYC and picked up a tube at the store there. 🙂 Also love their gentle microdermabrasion scrub and their Night-A-Mins cream!

    The L’Occitane hand cream is also my favourite for winter. My hands get super chapped to the point where my knuckles start bleeding and this stuff repairs it like magic. 🙂

    • I’m so glad to hear you love the Checks and Balances cleanser. It’s really value for money too, because a tube lasts me for at least 3 months.

      I think the scrub is “Modern Friction” right? I use that too, and it does work very well. I’m tempted by the Night-A-Mins cream now! I am so looking for a deep pore cleanser though. I find my pores get clogged so easily 😦 Got any recommendations?

      Yes, the L’Occitane hand cream is really nice. It’s become a tradition where I buy the largest tube I can find at duty free for the bf’s Mom. It has become her favourite hand cream. I have similar issues with chapped hands too, and this one is so soothing. It doesn’t sting at all.

      • Yes, Modern Friction! It’s AMAZING. My skin looks and feels soooo smooth afterwards! Have you tried Origins’ Zero Oil deep pore cleanser? I have a friend who also swears by their Clear Improvement mask.

        I use the L’Occitane hand cream before bed so it can repair my hands overnight, but I loooove Crabtree & Evelyn’s Hand Therapy for day ’cause it’s non-greasy but super-hydrating and smells amazing (my favourites are the pomegranate and the avocado scents!). 🙂

      • Hmm, how often do you suggest using Modern Friction? I think I should use it more often but I keep forgetting. I think I use it like once every two weeks or so.

        I have tried Zero Oil but I don’t know if it makes a difference or not. I find that I can feel an improvement more with Checks and Balances rather than Zero Oil but I do keep a tube for those days when my face looks too oily. For some reason Zero Oil is not sold in Norway so I buy it when I travel.

        Right, I should probably apply hand cream more often 🙂

        Yeah I’ve heard great stuff about Crabtree & Evelyn but they don’t have a store here. Someday I will try it.

  2. I love that chocolate scrub – it is permanent YAY 🙂 I went to the body shop yesterday and realized it has been made permanent 🙂 Love the hand cream also, it is really the best.

    I don’t actually have winter favorites except for maybe Lush Buffy which is a scrub and body butter in one. You should try it if you love coarse scrub mixed with a super rich body butter.

    • I wouldn’t have known about that scrub if it weren’t for you 🙂 Thank you!

      L’Occitane is awesome. I don’t know what I’d do without that hand cream.

      I like Buffy but it leaves a bit of oily spots around my bath tub. I almost slipped once, so since then I’m a bit iffy about it.

      I do want to get a Lush Shower Jelly just for fun. Those things are kind of cheerful in the morning.

Leave a Reply

