German Cheesecake

German cheesecake, better known as Käesekuchen, is a tricky cake for me to make because it’s usually made with Quark which is a special type of cheese, that is not available here.

At least that’s what I thought and I’ve been buying Quark and bringing it in a freezer bag in my luggage, during previous trips to Germany, just so I can make German cheesecake. I’ve also been cheating with instant mixes from Dr. Oetker, also only available in Germany.

Dr Oetker Käesekuchen Mix

Dr Oetker Käesekuchen Mix (Image from http://www.euro-goodies.com)

I know, I’m a little bit food obsessed but I look forward to these little things. When I first moved into my current apartment, about 4 years ago, I used to host cheesecake parties where I’d invite the bf along with some friends and we’d just eat cheesecake and sip tea or hot chocolate till it was almost dinner time. Sometimes we went out for dinner after that. Those were some of the most happiest times, ever.

I have a cake party event at work next week where different people sign up to bring different cakes and you sit at the office cafeteria and eat cake. It’s based on a Norwegian tradition known as “Kakebord” literally meaning “cake table”. I was trying to decide between making my Mother’s chocolate cake or a German cheesecake, but the cheesecake won because it doesn’t require a topping. I’m not very good at spreading out topping. I also discovered, recently, that Quark can be replaced with Kesam which is sold here. Kesam is a bit more watery in consistency, but taste wise, it’s pretty similar.

So, armed with this new substitute ingredient (though according to alternativeeating, it’s the same thing), I went hunting for a recipe that I could make. Most of the ones I found required baking using the Bain Marie method which I have never tried before, and the last thing I want to do is to make something complex and stress about it at the kitchen. I think baking should be fun, not stressful. Then, I stumbled upon this recipe on Anja’s Food 4 Thought. It was relatively simple and required very few ingredients.

Now let’s get to the interesting part, this is what a slice of the cake looks like.

German Cheesecake

German Cheesecake

Here’s a closer look:

German Cheesecake

German Cheesecake

This is how it looks before refrigeration. Usually the cheese layer will become more dense after refrigeration. I’ve placed most of the pieces into containers to be given away to some of our friends tomorrow because the bf and I don’t want to end up eating the whole cake. Shared calories is less calories 😉

The cake has turned out pretty well. I wouldn’t say it’s German Cafe level, but it’s tasty. I do wish I could make a slightly higher cake, but I think that might require tweaking the recipe a little. I hope I can make something similar that tastes just as good for the cake party in a few days’ from now. Wish me luck!

5 responses

  1. All hail the cheese cake queen, that slice absolutely looks perfect!! We don’t have quark cheese here and I’m too lazy to use the alternatives (I can imagine how costly they will be) but man what would I not do to have a slice now. Your colleagues are lucky folks, good job!

    • No, no I’m not the cheese cake queen 🙂 It’s just an attempt at making some cheese cake as I can’t find the rich, dense type that I like here.

      Yeah, quark cheese is a bit hard to find. I think you can make it by draining yoghurt at a certain temperature. But I’ve never tried it before. The only cheese I’ve tried to make is paneer and that was okay but a bit too soft compared to store bought one.

      Someday I will make it for you 🙂

    • No, no I’m not the cheesecake queen 🙂 I simply tried to make it and surprisingly it turned out pretty okay.

      Yeah, dairy products are anything but cheap back home. I spoil my colleagues, but I am very lucky, they are a really nice bunch of people who really appreciate good desserts and such. I think if they didn’t enjoy it I wouldn’t make the effort. The bf and I usually split whatever we bake and give it away to colleagues so we don’t end up eating all of it. In the cold weather it’s very difficult to resist carbs 🙂

  2. It looks delicious! Glad I’m 60km away from that 😛

    I assume you bought the original kesam, not the mager/light one? If it’s still too watery, you could blend in some philadelphia cheese or mascarpone (very little, as it’s made of cream) to reach the wanted richness.

    On another note, try some mager kesam with a hint of jam/vanilla/cinnamon and sugar in it, paired with berries. SO DELISH!

    • Hehehehe. Actually I bought the mager/light one because I was afraid that the original kesam would be too rich. The cake was pretty good but maybe I should try it with original kesam the next time I make it.

      Ohh..cinammon with kesam sounds really good. Will try it with the berries for sure!

Leave a Reply

