Fall/Winter Investments

Fall/Winter Investments

The husband and I went to New York for our honeymoon recently. We were there for 9 days and had the best time ever. I know, I always say that but this trip was special because we intentionally went to a place we had been before to reduce that stressful feeling of wanting to see and experience everything within a short amount of time. Of course, this time around, we have completely different eating habits so we got to try out tons of restaurants and cafes that served delicious gluten free food.

Let’s get to the interesting part – the shopping. Or in this case, the “investments” that I made. I really wanted to find some key wardrobe pieces for Fall/Winter, though the weather in New York was quite hot while we were there. It felt kind of odd wearing jeans and a T-shirt but trying on a Parka in Aritzia. I actually tried one first and then asked the sales assistant for a thicker one, explaining “We’re from Norway.” She was kind enough to grab one that she thought was “heavy duty” because she had experience with Canadian winters. Now we’re talking ๐Ÿ™‚ Hence I got that particular parka.

I also got a wool coat because my older ones are either too loose or too old. It’s a bit sad. I did buy a wool coat for winter last year and I’m still hoping to be able to wear it this year as it’s a cocoon-style coat (beautiful cut) from COS that I got in Berlin – similar to this one.

I couldn’t resist J. Crew. There is something so chic about their simple, yet beautifully cut clothing. The older I get, the more I appreciate buying 1 thing that is properly cut and oh so flattering, instead of 10 things that are passably goodย looking (yes, that phrase exists). So J. Crew it was. I got a pair of the Reid jeans that is a bit longer than the ankle length that seems to be the rage these days – not going to help in winter. I also got a blazer though mine’s in Grey, not the camel coloured one shown above. I couldn’t find a picture of the Grey one, sorry!

For Autumn, I caved and got a pair of Frye boots. They actually didn’t have this pair in my size in the store, but the sales assistant was extremely helpful and had this pair shipped from Washington DC to their New York store: overnight! Talk about service. When will we get this type of service in Norway?

Sweaters at Uniqlo – total steal. The prices were great and the quality is good. Why not? When you live in a country with cold weather, you learn to wrap yourself in wool. It’s the only thing that works most days. Now the Wilfred Free Ward Coat was a special purchase as it fit so nicely and I really liked that slightly mottled grey shade.

I looked high and low for “The” handbag and ended up with this Rebecca Minkoff satchel. Perfect for work and can’t fault Saffiano leather. So durable! Mine’s in that shade but it’s actually more “oxblood” than brown. Just saying ๐Ÿ™‚

Lastly, I caved and got a Tom Ford quad because when you’re in the US, you have to buy Tom Ford makeup. It’s one of those luxury purchases that just has to happen. Kind of like buying a perfume just because it smells amazing – ย not because you need it ๐Ÿ˜‰

4 responses

  1. Excellent purchases!!! Love the coats — so glad you found some from Aritzia that you like! I have way too many coats from there now, but I do think the quality is well worth the price. I have a parka from over a decade ago that’s still in perfect condition! ๐Ÿ™‚

    The Rebecca Minkoff bag really stole the show here, though. I love that style — so timeless and well structured but not too boxy. And love that you got it in oxblood!

    And UNIQLO!!! Haha, that’s one of the first stores I go to when I’m in NYC. I stock up on all my basics. Their Leggings Pants are my faves.

    Think I might get a pair of Frye boots for this winter. They’re calling my name.

    And love that you got the TF quad in such gorgeous warm neutral shades. Wearable for all year round, so it’s well worth the price. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks! Glad you think so. Yes, Aritzia was awesome. I wanted half the shop! Good to hear that they will last. It’s always nice to have some coats to rotate because as you know, in Winter we just live in our coats.

      I love the Minkoff bag too. I wanted something different and I have many black bags so I thought Oxblood would be nice. They also had a dark gray and a forest green version – but I thought the gray might rub against my dark jeans, and the forest green would be a bit hard to mix and match. So, Oxblood it was ๐Ÿ™‚ Btw, I got this at Bloomingdale’s who gave me a 10% discount because I was a tourist. Perhaps you could consider it when you’re in NYC next time.

      I haven’t tried Uniqlo’s legging pants, but I’ve tried their Ultra Stretch jeans. They’re quite nice and it’s always flattering to know that they encourage you to buy a slightly smaller size as it will expand to mould to you. I’m going to Berlin in ~2 weeks, hope to try this legging pants now!

      You should get a Frye. I haven’t really worn mine yet as the weather is a bit warm here still. Slightly. I hope to break into it next week.

      The TF quad is nice. Still having some eyeshadow creasing issues. Strangely NARS’s primer has stopped working for me. *sob* Have to play around a bit more to find another one.

      Hope you have a good weekend!

  2. I love how the winter jacket standard is Canadian winter lol yes, we inhabitants of colder countries must stick together ๐Ÿ™‚ I missed Uniqlo when I was in NYC, but I’m glad you had an awesome trip!

    • Hahaha, yes! It was kind of comforting to know that if it works for Canadian winter, then it would be good enough for Norwegian winter. I live in the city so it doesn’t get as cold as it can get in the suburbs, thankfully. Maybe they might open Uniqlo in Canada? (http://business.financialpost.com/2014/03/26/uniqlo-in-talks-to-open-stores-in-canada-in-2016-sources-say/) They do have good stuff. I like the cut of their shirts and their merino sweaters. They also make “HeatTech” which is a range of inner layers like singlets and tights that you can wear underneath your clothing for cold weather. It is supposed to help warm you, but it’s not wool so you can wash it like regular clothing. For summer they make “Airism” which is supposed to help keep you cool. OK, I should stop before I sound like a Uniqlo ad ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for the well wishes. We were so glad to get to go to NYC for a second time and see different things this time.

Leave a Reply

