Appreciating The Small Things in Life

I always seem to look for the big picture. I’m not good at appreciating the little things in life – but I’d like to improve.

A little birdie told me that you should be happy with what you have or there will come a time where you will have everything — but happiness.

I’d like to learn how to appreciate what I have and stop searching so hard for what is missing.

Today I’m happy for the Tim Tams I received from a colleague who was traveling. Tim Tams are chocolate cookies originating from Australia. To me they bring back a lot of memories of my life in Brisbane.

Tim Tams

Tim Tams - Double Chocolate

Back when I was a student I used to eat Tim Tams when I was depressed or stressed about assignments/projects. In fact I gained so much weight in university because of my junk food habits. It took me a year to lose the extra weight I had gained during my first year away from home.

But these biscuits still bring with them a little bit of happiness and that feeling of being independent and free. Not that I’m not independent now, but it was in Australia that I got my first taste of what it’s like to make your own decisions and live life the way you want to.

In my first job, I used to get shipments of Tim Tams from my good friend mpt as well as from colleagues who were traveling to Australia. I walked around the office getting my developer friends to try out the Tim Tam Slam – a special way to eat Tim Tams with coffee or hot chocolate (doesn’t work with tea) using it as a straw. This was the perfect ice breaker – a few rounds of Tim Tam Slams and I made so many friends there.

Tim Tams remind me of these things. It’s amazing how food can stir up so many memories.

Unfortunately, eating a whole packet is not good for the waistline so I’ll have to ration them out carefully 🙂 Seeing as it is virtually impossible to get them in Oslo, who knows when I’ll get another packet?

6 responses

  1. Official tim tam ambasaddor, hehe. Now you’re making me crave for it! It’s amazing how chocolate/snacks can evoke such memories eh?

    • They have them in KL right? Last year when I was back, the Cold Storage in Subang Parade had a lot of flavours as they were advertising their range of Australian snacks.

      I can’t eat as many as I used to anymore… so guilty afterward 😦

      • We have two versions here, one made in Indonesia which isn’t that great tasting and the OZ version – which is much more expensive. Can get it at Cold Storage. Oh come on, I’m sure you can afford to indulge in it 🙂 My grandfather always said eat and be happy 🙂

  2. Hahaha “eat and be happy” only works for people with good genetics – not if your mother’s side and father’s side both have diabetes, high blood pressure and cholesterol. I’m trying to break this cycle 🙂 Not very successful so far thanks to my sweet tooth.

    • Ok how about eat in small quantities and be happy 🙂 Don’t have good genetics on my side either which is why my mom always tells me to watch my teh tarik and sweets but I still go ahead anyways. I should adopt a healthier lifestyle but I’m soooo weak!!

      • Adopting a healthy lifestyle is tough. It’s taken me 2 years so far to eat healthy and give up my sweet tooth. Once a week I still cave and eat something sinful 🙂

        The trick to giving up sugar is to start with less sugar, then less, then reduce it even more otherwise you’ll be miserable. Been there, done that, bought the T-shirt 🙂

        You look really good though. I, on the other hand, have bad skin and I have a tummy which just refuses to go away. Oh and flabby arms too! 🙂

Leave a comment