Everlasting Love – My Prawns and I

I love prawns and it helps to live in Norway where they are relatively cheap compared to other European cities – purely my opinion though, no statistics to prove it!

I recently found this healthy risotto recipe where they don’t use Parmesan cheese but Creme Fraiche instead. From what I know Creme Fraiche is actually more fattening but it was delicious – so I’m not complaining.

Prawn and Lemon Risotto

The dish was quite quick to make and really tasty. I played around with the measurements though as I’m not patient enough to measure each ingredient. I usually go by taste and consistency (and add extra prawns ;)).

Grilled Prawns with Mango Salad

Grilled Prawns with Mango Salad

Another prawn dish that is quick and mess-free is this Grilled Prawns with Mango salad. I love the grilled garlic prawns you get at Tapas restaurants. I’d eat it everyday if I could. In an attempt to replicate that, I tossed some prawns with garlic and some spices (salt, pepper, lemon juice, ), grilled them in the oven for 10-15 minutes and they were done. The salad was just a toss up of greens and fresh mango slices together with vinaigrette dressing. Since I can’t give up carbs completely, I ate it with some garlic bread slices.

I’m hoping to bake something this weekend – since the boyfriend’s parents are visiting and it would be nice to have them over for tea and some cake since I have to work most days and won’t get to play tour guide :/ I’m contemplating something slightly healthy like this Moroccan Lemon and Orange Cake but I doubt I can find “orange flower” essence here πŸ˜‰ Maybe I’ll substitute it with some orange juice and rose water. Let’s see πŸ™‚ I’ll tell you if it is a success.

14 responses

  1. That was quick! I just published the post a few minutes ago. Hm, never heard of Prawn Dhansak, will look it up after lunch when I’m not craving prawns. Thanks for the comment πŸ™‚

  2. Mmm mmmm prawn dishes look good! I’ve only had risotto once. Dont really find it on menus much here. Ooo dont forget a photo of the morrocan cake when you make it.

    • Hmm, maybe Italiannies might have it? I haven’t eaten it until a friend of mine who used to live in Italy made Jamie Oliver’s Risotto Bianco for me. She used white wine but since I don’t drink, I use white wine vinegar – I’d like to believe the taste is the same πŸ™‚

      It’s a _bit_ time consuming to make because you need to pour the stock ladle by ladle and let it cook slowly… then you get a very nice texture. Don’t make it if you’re starving.

      I’ll try to make the cake – the goal is to wake up at 8am Saturday morning and bake it.

  3. My fave risotto has got to be Risotto ai Funghi Porcini, fancy name for risotto with Porcini mushrooms. YUMSSSS. And white wine vinegar is notttt in any way similar to white wine! O_o Its basically just vinegar! If you’re bent on not having any alcohol, leave out the vinegar altogether.

    Prawns here cost EUR13.90 a kilo, sobs. And they’re so average in size. The prawns in Spain were HALF the price and DOUBLE the size. I couldve cried at the market ok!

    • Hmm, I don’t mind eating food cooked with alcohol because the alcohol has already evaporated πŸ™‚ It’s just that I looked up a substitute for white wine and found out the white wine vinegar would be a good option.

      Alcohol is very expensive in Norway – heavily taxed – so I don’t feel like using expensive white wine (since I don’t have the taste for it, neither will I be able to appreciate it) in cooking. But maybe I should get a nice 7 Euros bottle in the duty free next time and use it to cook (average bottle of white wine in Norway costs 14 Euros).

      Hm, 14 Euros for a kilo. I think I pay about 9.30 Euros for half a kg here – but it is cheap considering Norwegian prices πŸ™‚ So I eat a lot of prawns. But Lamb, is literally non-existent. It’s almost impossible to find it in supermarkets and I keep forgetting to go to a real butcher and get some. Someday I will.

      I guess you can go to Spain twice a year and eat as much prawns as you want..hehehe. I did that with caramel popcorn in KL – ate two boxes over two days. Can’t get caramel popcorn here 😦

  4. 14EUR for a bottle of wine? O__o Whoa. THe only thing that’s relatively cheap in Italy would be the wine. An average bottle costs about 2 EUR, and the good ones 4 and above. We dont get lamb all that easily either. Pity since I looooove lamb, especially in curries.

    • I have only cooked lamb twice in Norway. Otherwise I eat a lot of chicken, prawns, salmon and pork.

      2 Euros for a bottle of wine? You can’t even get a latte here for that price! πŸ™‚ A basic latte is 4 Euros.

      If you come to Norway, I’ll brave the cold, hunt you some lamb (from the butcher lah) and make you a mean lamb curry (my mother’s recipe). How’s that for a deal?

  5. the risotto and the mango salad looks delicious! I don’t think I’ve ever had good risotto though. I should find a good recipe to make some ~
    and thank you for commenting on my blog!

    • Thanks πŸ™‚ A nice risotto recipe is Jamie Oliver’s Risotto Bianco. He has the recipe on his website. It’s vegetarian but it’s delicious. Goes with some grilled chicken on the side or even pan fried scallops.

Leave a comment